Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I think the flavor of the mix is good. However, I felt like the ratio of the butter/seasonings was off. I don't feel like it coated enough of the mix well enough so it felt a little bland. If I make this again I might increase the butter/seasonings. I used the slow cooking method in the oven because I think it turns out better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Very, very good! I use 1 1/2 times the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ky Borgstadt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Doubled the worcestershire sauce and seasonings, baked at 250 for one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gambrills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Was great, especially with the spices doubled like other people have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellacat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Love this!Good snack, I baked in the oven for 1 hr on 250. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Vickers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
here are the tips to make this recipe taste how I remember it from childhood. 1) MAKE THE DAY BEFORE (I don't know why, but it tasted perfect the day AFTER my party) 1) double the spices, triple the worcestershire sauce 2) add pecans, honey nuts & honey nut cheerios (if you like them) 3) bake in the oven (follow the instructions from another reviewer--I think it was 250 for 2 hrs, stirring occassionaly)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Baked in oven @250 for 1 hour, stirring every 15 min. Used Crispix, Goldfish pretzels, Honey Cheerios instead of bagel chips, 1/2 c. cocktail peanuts, 1/2 c. cashews & doubled spices based on previous comments. Doubling the spices was key, otherwise this would have been a 5 star review! LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I agree with the reviewer who said after putting this back in the conventional oven it was better. It was not at all crisp after the microwave method. Next time I will stick with the seasoning blend, but use the oven, @ 250 for 40 - 50 minutes . Waaay better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I make this every year around the holidays and love it but one thing to know is it is not vegetarian because of the Worcestershire sauce. My easy way to make it vegetarian is to use instead soy sauce (I use the reduced sodium), double the garlic and onion powder, and add a little pepper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Baked this in the oven the "old-fashioned" way--crispier! Added honey-nut cheerios instead of bagel chips--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkersburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States