Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I agree with the reviewer who said after putting this back in the conventional oven it was better. It was not at all crisp after the microwave method. Next time I will stick with the seasoning blend, but use the oven, @ 250 for 40 - 50 minutes . Waaay better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I make this every year around the holidays and love it but one thing to know is it is not vegetarian because of the Worcestershire sauce. My easy way to make it vegetarian is to use instead soy sauce (I use the reduced sodium), double the garlic and onion powder, and add a little pepper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Baked this in the oven the "old-fashioned" way--crispier! Added honey-nut cheerios instead of bagel chips--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkersburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Only four stars as is. Five with adjustments. First of all, I baked this in the oven, the way my mom always did. I can't imagine the it coming out as good in them in microwave and, judging from the comments, it doesn't. I used Crisipix as another reviewer had mentioned. Really you could use any combination of ingredients but the big thing I noticed right off is that the seasoning needed to be doubled. It just wasn't enough to coat 12 cups worth of mix. I baked at 250 for an hour. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
As is, this recipe isn't that good. The amount of spice makes the final product too bland, and microwaving doesn't bring out the toasty flavor and crunch. I had to double the spices, add a little cajun spice, and increase the butter before baking it in the oven as most other people did. Five stars with the changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Man, was I ever leery about microwaving this! I made 2 batches, doubling the spices for each, and did the first round the old fashioned way in the oven at 250 for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes. The 2nd batch, I tried the microwave and IT WORKS! Just don't go over 5 minutes as it can over-toast (I spaced and let it go about 20 seconds too long). It didn't ruin it completely, it was just a little over-toasted in one area. I'll be doing it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clair780

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Making this brought back memories of making party mix with my mom every Christmas. I love this stuff!! I've never tried the microwave method but it turned out great from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Just made three batches of this to put in Christmas gift baskets. It was actually my first time making Chex mix! Please read the following sentence carefully: DOUBLE THE SEASONINGS. DO IT. I'm not joking. The original recipe is SO bland by itself. I took other's suggestions and doubled all the spices except the butter. Then made it according to the recipe. I made it as is the first time and was VERY disappointed with the lack of flavor. I added more seasoning salt to it which helped, but the second time i doubled it and it was much much better. Otherwise definitely a classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I prefer the oven method myself but other than that its still FAB. Try adding a few drops of liquid smoke to the butter...SOOOOOOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pendleton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
My grandmother always put plain cheerios in hers. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States