Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Doubled the worcestershire sauce and seasonings, baked at 250 for one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gambrills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Was great, especially with the spices doubled like other people have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellacat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Love this!Good snack, I baked in the oven for 1 hr on 250. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Vickers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
here are the tips to make this recipe taste how I remember it from childhood. 1) MAKE THE DAY BEFORE (I don't know why, but it tasted perfect the day AFTER my party) 1) double the spices, triple the worcestershire sauce 2) add pecans, honey nuts & honey nut cheerios (if you like them) 3) bake in the oven (follow the instructions from another reviewer--I think it was 250 for 2 hrs, stirring occassionaly)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Baked in oven @250 for 1 hour, stirring every 15 min. Used Crispix, Goldfish pretzels, Honey Cheerios instead of bagel chips, 1/2 c. cocktail peanuts, 1/2 c. cashews & doubled spices based on previous comments. Doubling the spices was key, otherwise this would have been a 5 star review! LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I agree with the reviewer who said after putting this back in the conventional oven it was better. It was not at all crisp after the microwave method. Next time I will stick with the seasoning blend, but use the oven, @ 250 for 40 - 50 minutes . Waaay better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I make this every year around the holidays and love it but one thing to know is it is not vegetarian because of the Worcestershire sauce. My easy way to make it vegetarian is to use instead soy sauce (I use the reduced sodium), double the garlic and onion powder, and add a little pepper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Baked this in the oven the "old-fashioned" way--crispier! Added honey-nut cheerios instead of bagel chips--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkersburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Only four stars as is. Five with adjustments. First of all, I baked this in the oven, the way my mom always did. I can't imagine the it coming out as good in them in microwave and, judging from the comments, it doesn't. I used Crisipix as another reviewer had mentioned. Really you could use any combination of ingredients but the big thing I noticed right off is that the seasoning needed to be doubled. It just wasn't enough to coat 12 cups worth of mix. I baked at 250 for an hour. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
As is, this recipe isn't that good. The amount of spice makes the final product too bland, and microwaving doesn't bring out the toasty flavor and crunch. I had to double the spices, add a little cajun spice, and increase the butter before baking it in the oven as most other people did. Five stars with the changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Retro Cocktail Party

Clink your glasses in a toast to cool days gone by.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States