Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Excellent. I used a big plastic bowl and mixed well before and during microwaving. Allow time to cool and everything crisps up like the oven. You don't have to worry about scorching and it's fast and easy. I make up a gallon ziploc bagful of dry ingredeints in advance and when ready I add sauce ingredients!! I like cheeze crackers in mine instead of pretzels, but you can make any changes you like!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I think the flavor of the mix is good. However, I felt like the ratio of the butter/seasonings was off. I don't feel like it coated enough of the mix well enough so it felt a little bland. If I make this again I might increase the butter/seasonings. I used the slow cooking method in the oven because I think it turns out better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Very, very good! I use 1 1/2 times the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Provky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Doubled the worcestershire sauce and seasonings, baked at 250 for one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gambrills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Was great, especially with the spices doubled like other people have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellacat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Love this!Good snack, I baked in the oven for 1 hr on 250. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom of 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
here are the tips to make this recipe taste how I remember it from childhood. 1) MAKE THE DAY BEFORE (I don't know why, but it tasted perfect the day AFTER my party) 1) double the spices, triple the worcestershire sauce 2) add pecans, honey nuts & honey nut cheerios (if you like them) 3) bake in the oven (follow the instructions from another reviewer--I think it was 250 for 2 hrs, stirring occassionaly)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Baked in oven @250 for 1 hour, stirring every 15 min. Used Crispix, Goldfish pretzels, Honey Cheerios instead of bagel chips, 1/2 c. cocktail peanuts, 1/2 c. cashews & doubled spices based on previous comments. Doubling the spices was key, otherwise this would have been a 5 star review! LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I agree with the reviewer who said after putting this back in the conventional oven it was better. It was not at all crisp after the microwave method. Next time I will stick with the seasoning blend, but use the oven, @ 250 for 40 - 50 minutes . Waaay better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I make this every year around the holidays and love it but one thing to know is it is not vegetarian because of the Worcestershire sauce. My easy way to make it vegetarian is to use instead soy sauce (I use the reduced sodium), double the garlic and onion powder, and add a little pepper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Retro Cocktail Party

Clink your glasses in a toast to cool days gone by.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States