Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Been making Chex mix for years during the holidays. It's a great snack for everyone. I also leave out the wheat chex, don't care for them and often add parmesan twists or other type crackers, etc. Lots of options you can add/omit with this recipe. Also, I always bake mine in the oven, it's so much better that way. I don't see how the micro way could taste good at all or come out crispy like it should be. Double or even triple the seasoning/butter! as is it comes out way too bland! I also add a touch of hot sauce and cayenne pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I would never use the microwave. Bake for one hour at 350 and stir every 15 mins. Comes out more crispy. I use Cherrios instead of wheat chex and skip the bagel bites. Sometimes add some Tabasco for some heat. I've been eating this for 50 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I added celery salt and hot pepper sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Cooking it in the microwave burnt the butter within first two minutes. Totally ruined. Not sure how this works for anyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Note: I baked in the oven for an hour instead of microwaving A good starting point but I like to make modifications (i.e. I added Cheez-Its as that's how we ate it growing up and added more pretzel [sticks] than called for). All that being said, I definitely think you need lots more of the seasoning. Because I added cheezits and more pretzels, I doubled the seasoning and still added more during baking. I'd probably double my doubling of the Worcestershire in the future and add more salt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeyND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Does it get better than Chex Mix? You seriously can't go wrong making this for any crowd or just for your family. I agree with other reviewers that the traditional oven method really makes for better texture. I also add a whole stick of butter (8 tbsp instead of 6) and I add 2 tbsp of Tabasco for a spicy kick - it sounds like a lot but it once it's distributed around all of the mix, it gives a good kick but nothing that will burn your mouth out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I will stick with baking it in the oven it just taste better that way and I also had to make another batch or sauce there was so much cereal mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Not sure what happened. I followed the recipe, mixed in the wet ingredients and tossed with the dry. Microwaved for 2 minutes, began to smell a tiny bit burnt smell. Stirred and microwaved for 2 more minutes. YIKES! I had to take it out early, because of the intense amount of burnt smell filling my kitchen. The entire bowl was BLACK!! Needless to say, this didn't work out for me :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I put this in my warming drawer in my stove for 1 hour on medium. It infuses the flavor much better than the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ttownbeth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Retro Cocktail Party

Clink your glasses in a toast to cool days gone by.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States