Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
My first time making Chex Mix! I like making it instead of buying it! I doubled the seasoning for one batch of chex mix. I always thought home made chex mix was VERY bland, but doubling the seasonings turned out MUCH better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISSALU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I did this recipe but we were unable to find the rye chips or bagel chips. Over all we followed the recipe to the exact specs(except for the chips) It was a really good recipe. We will make this again. We also made a BBQ one it turned out awesome. I think that we should have added a little more butter and worcestershire sauce but it turned out really good other wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I make this every year during the holidays, everyone loves it. I personally don't care for Wheat Chex, so I use Kellogg's Crispix, which is rice on one side, corn on the other. I also use an entire cube of butter (8 tbsp). When adding the spices and worcestershire, I use the amounts called for, but I make sure the measuring spoons are VERY full. I also use the microwave, and nobody has ever complained. As far as it not being the so called "original" recipe, to that I say WHO CARES? This is yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I made this because I wanted a large quantity summer snack for my teenage boys who inhale everything I bring home. I omited worcestershire and used cheese pretzels and garlic parmesan pita chips (they are a lighter texture then bagel chips) I followed the recipe as written and was impressed at how easy it was to make and loved the results! Thank you for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by machel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
My MIL didn't have the seasoned salt one time so she substituted Tony Sachre's (?it's a green can) and it was AMAZING. I started making that change a constant when I make it. It can't be beat. Also, I use the big twisted pretzel sticks broken up into smaller pieces, they absorb the flavoring way better than the little pretzels or the thin sticks. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Ham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I agree with some of the other posters. I make enough of this at once (usually 2 or 3 times the original recipe) that I bake it in the oven instead of putting it in the microwave. I bake it at 250 for an hour, stirring every 15 minutes. I love making my own chex mix because I can put my favorite things in it. Mine has cheese itz, cashews (my husband is allergic to peanuts), corn chex only, pretzels, and rye chips. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This was great, i just switched crispx for chex because its not available in my area and added plain cherrios. I would highly recommend this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I think this is wonderful. Much better than the store bought chex mix. I always cook it in the over, though. 250 degrees for about 45 minutes. Microwave makes it soggy. My whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
tastes best baked at 250 degrees for about 45 min. It also tastes better after it has cooled and sat for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbeyroad
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I love the crunch and the flavor. I think increasing the amount of buter would help cover more morsels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Retro Cocktail Party

Clink your glasses in a toast to cool days gone by.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States