Original Buffalo Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by txsweetteamoses
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Fried them but used my seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by txsweetteamoses

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I didn't try this recipe yet, but in the creator's defense, I think there has been a misunderstanding. Reviewers are complaining the recipe wasn't hot (spicy) enough. Where the recipe submitter states to use "2 teaspoons hot pepper sauce", I believe she is referring to McIlhenny's Tabasco sauce, which is nearly 10 X hotter than Frank's REDHOT. Any chef worth her salt in the kitchen knows that peppers (and their derivatives, i.e. hot sauce) have a heat rating scale varying from zero (red bell pepper) to 16 million (Pure capsaicin and Dihydrocapsaicin). Frank's REDHOT rates 450 units on the heat scale; McIlhenny's Tabasco rates 2,500-5,000 units; therefore Tabasco is roughly 5-10 times hotter than Frank's. If so inclined, try the recipe again, and make the adjustments, either use Tabasco as the recipe is written @ 2 tsp., or use 5-10 times the Frank's (2 teaspoons X 5-10, anywhere from 3.5 to 7 Tablespoons, which is nearly 1/2 cup Frank's). Add slowly to taste. I realize the cooking levels and knowledge of participants on this site varies as much as the pepper ranking scale, so let's cut each other a bit of slack and work together to share some fantastic recipes, Allrecipes cooks! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I thought these were good, but I breaded the chicken first. Pretty basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I give this recipe a 3 star because I had to modify the ingredients. I did not use vinegar because I used Frank's Red Hot Sauce. I used 1/2 cup Franks and a 1/2 cup butter-- real butter, no substitutes. I also added 1/4 teasp salt, 1 tablespoon paprika, 1 teaspoon garlic powder, 1 tablespoon Oregano, 1 teaspoon pepper, 1/2 teaspoon chili powder and 1 teaspoon cumin. I dried my chicken wings off and coated them with flour TWICE (I think this is how KFC does it too), I had to fry them for a while until they were crispy golden brown and then dipped and coated them in sauce- shook off the extra sauce and served them. If you want more spice you have to change your butter to hot sauce ratio- more hot sauce = more spice. I will use my modified recipe again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoeannamontana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I gave this 5 stars cuz all I had to do to make the best wings I ever had was to skip the vinegar and add 2 tablespoons of minced garlic from a jar (including the liquid). Now if you want coop d grace, put them on your grill and flame broil them breifly. You want 5 star try that. Without reading this recipe I would have missed out on these fantastic garlic wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sledgehammer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This recipe is great I have been using it for 25 years now. The only thing is it does not need vinegar it takes the taste and the hotness out of them. If you are looking for hot try using half the butter and let it reduce by a third. Great for superbowl parties. I never had a superbowl party fail (unless no wings)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Not even the picture looks good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This recipe does not need viniger because the hot sauce has more than enough. I add Cayenne pepper to my melted butter and hot sauce. This recipe gave me a good base but I had to kick it up my style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This is NOT the original recipe. There is no added vinegar to the Frank's Hot Sauce and butter. Also, this is so bland. You need at least 1/2 cup of Frank's to give it any heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
It's a good sauce, but it does lack any heat. I used a good spicy pepper sauce, but the extra vinegar cut the heat too much. Also, one tip that helps increase the heat a little: once you've coated the wings with the sauce, throw them back into the fryer for a minute more or so. Then drain and re-coat. Very good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

Baked Buffalo Wings

See how to make delicious hot wings in the oven.

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States