Original Blue Cheese Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Fantastic and so easy! I took this to a dinner party and everyone raved about it. I think the celery and lemon juice are what makes this so good as they add a crisp flavor different from most mayo based coleslaw, yet you can't taste the lemon. I will be making this often as I'm trying to add more cabbage into our diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was wonderful. The perfect companion to a buffalo chicken sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jodi
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This is my husband's favorite! I always make this when having the Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken from this same website. We like to put the slaw on top of the sanwich...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was soooo good! I liked eating it best right away better than leftover the next day. I omitted the celery and didn't use a mix: instead I just used regular cabbage and a little red onion. I was looking for a way to use up my blue cheese and this is the way to go! Thanks for the recipe, jodi! I will use this again and again -- great twist on ordinary coleslaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was very tasty - and easy! We love blue cheese dressing, blue cheese with fruit and nuts for appetizer or desert, blue cheese on burgers and steaks, but I had never thought of using blue cheese with coleslaw. It seems like the strong flavor of the cabbage would clash with the strong flavor of the blue cheese, but that is not the case - it was really nice! I took the advice of other reviewers and used about half the lemon juice, and it was perfect for this family. I served this with the Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches (from this site) and fresh fruit - the slaw was the best part of the meal, as we thought the chicken was extremely salty and this was a nice foil for all that salt. Thank you, jodi, for a nice addition to the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This was amazing! I followed the recipe almost exactly (I used a bit less lemon and a bit more blue cheese) I also used packaged coleslaw, but with lots of extra julienned carrots and extra red cabbage. This one is going in my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I thought this was really good. I had a super large lemon on hand so I just used one and I added one packet of splenda for a hint of sweet. Also, I had radishes on hand so I used about 7 of them julienned. very yummy! (served it with the pulled pork recipe on this site) This is my first review, it was THAT good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Really good! I like a little more dressing, so I added a little more mayo and it was perfect. Thanks for an awesome recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I was very impressed with this recipe. My boyfriend even ate it (plus seconds) and he's not a vegetable eater. I paired it with homemade buffalo wings and it was a perfect meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abreitbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circle, Montana, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Good stuff! didn't have any green onions so I sprinkled in some onion powder as well as a little garlic salt and fresh ground pepper. Very freshing coleslaw. I topped some buffalo chicken burgers with it and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States