Oriental Shrimp Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Fast and delicious. I normally use frozen shrimp and frozen peas and just let them cook a little longer before I add the noodles. Also delicious with cellophane noodles in place of rice vermicelli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Well, I couldn't fine rice vermicelli, so I used glass noodles, the problem was that you can't really break them. They all entangled together making the soup hard to eat. So you might not wanna do that, or you'll loose points in presentation. But the taste was wonderful. Thank you Lindsay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Tonite I needed this soup! I think it was quite tasty. I did substitute the snow peas for edamame. I also used frozen shrimp instead of fresh, and instead of vermicilli I used thin whole wheat pasta (still broke it up into 2 inch pieces). I opted to eliminate the celery, not a big fan of it. This soup was perfect for this chilly winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This soup is so good, and is as good as you make it. You can develop the flavor as you go, so make sure your broth is excellent. Add shrimp at the end since they take no time to cook. Really good with Napa cabbage, snow peas, carrots, and bean sprouts added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I had to use what I had on hand, so my ingredients do vary. Still, I needed the recipe for the relative amounts and techniques. I used some lemongrass from a pot on my patio, jarred minced ginger (no fresh,) asparagus (cut diagonally) and frozen uncooked, tail-on shrimp (which I gently heated in the 2 quarts of water that I eventually strained and added some chicken base to for a slightly fishy chick broth.) Everything else was basically the same. At the end, I added a dash of sesame oil. Just what I was craving tonight, and it was really quick:) Thanks for hitting the spot! I'm giving 'my' version 4 stars, because I didn't have enough fresh lime juice on hand, which would have bumped it up a notch. I'm betting that as written, it would be 5 stars. Looking forward to trying it again with fresh ginger and more limes. I kinda liked the asparagus though . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I really liked this soup. It was relatively simple. I had to make a slight adjustment and use ground ginger in place of minced, and I didnt have any snow peas on hand. My one gripe was that the soup was just a tad bit bland for me. I added extra crushed red pepper but it still needed something more. I think next time I may add from cilantro or green onions for additional flavor- otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This was ok but I must have done something wrong because it burned my throat. The spiciness of the red pepper and ginger were strong for me, maybe I made a mistake. No one wanted to eat this in my house so hubby will be stuck taking it to work... He's the human garbage disposal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is a great soup recipe. My husband requested it again soon after we made it the first time. I had never worked with fresh ginger before, but read online to peel it with a spoon and it worked great. Very tasty combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was such a good recipe! I love really flavourful foods, so I was worried that it would be bland because it was so simple. That wasn't the case at all, it was awesome! Definately a keeper for nights when there isn't much time left to cook. Thanks alot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
The soup was wonderful!! I will be making this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy Burdett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States