Oriental Shrimp Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
I needed to use up extra shrimp from a party. This soup turned out easy and fabulous! Instead of cooking raw shrimp, I added my (leftover) pre-cooked shrimp at the last minute. I don't like spicy, so I was nervous about the red pepper -- no problem. Wonderful flavor. Attractive appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Easy to throw together and doesn't need too many exotic ingredients. I'm a grad student, and this was great to serve to a bunch of friends for not much money ;) Great light soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
We used homemade shrimp broth and a pound of shrimp. Also used Kluski noodles instead of vermicelli and added snow peas about 3 minutes before serving (add to your taste). Excellent, will most definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
I have four children and they like different foods.One likes everything,another likes almost nothing,the last two only likes pizza & hamburgers. At last they all agree on this recipe.It is incredible,the ease of making it.And the flavor is delicious.I would reccomend this recipe to anyone who wants a change of traditional soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This soup was delightful, with delicate flavors. It was easy, and fairly quick to make (I cut up all the veggies ahead of time). I added some wine (about 1/2 cup), 2 tbs of rice vinegar for a slight sour kick, and some chopped cilantro for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
We love this soup! Even my young daughter eats this. I use pre-cooked frozen shrimp because I always have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This is a great soup, fantastic on cold nights. Since there are only two of us, I place our servings in a smaller pot and cook the noodles only for those portions... keeps the noodles from turning mushy in the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I'm allergic to seafood but I made this dish for my parents. They absolutely loved it! I was basically using this recipe to finish and clean up all the leftover veggies in our fridge. I also added 1 cup of snap peas, used 6 cans of chicken broth, and used pre-cooked cocktail shrimp. I omitted the soy sauce and substituted the vermicelli noodles for 2 packs of udon noodles. It smelt great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Delicate flavors, I took the advice of another post and added cilantro and rice wine vinegar. I think the recipe would have been bland without these additions. Next time, I would add more shrimp. I ended up cooking more shrimp with a cajun seasoning and adding it to the leftover soup. Overall, very good and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jasper, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I cut the ingredients in half but otherwise followed the recipe to a T. It came out great. I think the trick is not using low-sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States