Oriental Shrimp Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
I have four children and they like different foods.One likes everything,another likes almost nothing,the last two only likes pizza & hamburgers. At last they all agree on this recipe.It is incredible,the ease of making it.And the flavor is delicious.I would reccomend this recipe to anyone who wants a change of traditional soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This is a great soup, fantastic on cold nights. Since there are only two of us, I place our servings in a smaller pot and cook the noodles only for those portions... keeps the noodles from turning mushy in the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This soup was delightful, with delicate flavors. It was easy, and fairly quick to make (I cut up all the veggies ahead of time). I added some wine (about 1/2 cup), 2 tbs of rice vinegar for a slight sour kick, and some chopped cilantro for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Also added spinach, napa cabbage. Used a full pound of shrimp. Added a dash of sesame oil. Used soaked rice noodles. Soak in hot water 10 min then cook with the soup. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Ok, after reading other reviews and analyzing the recipe, I made a few small changes, but the recipe would still be great without them (hence, the 5 stars!). The changes that I made were to use ground ginger instead of minced (what I had on hand), 2 cans of cut baby corn instead of carrots, sauteed mushrooms instead of the celery, and used ramen noodles in place of vermicelli. I also added a little sesame oil to my bowl and had everyone else at the table taste it...they ended up adding it to theirs also! I think the only change that I will make next time is to cook the noodles separately and put them into each bowl and then ladle the soup over the top. Just a personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
We really liked this at our house. It was easy to make. I didn't use celery becasue I don't like the taste, but I think water chestnuts would be good for some crunch. I also would use different noodles next time. The rice ones I got at my store were about 3 feet long in a big ball and very difficult to break or cut. Any helpful hints?! I'm using udon noddles the next time. Overall very good. Update: I make this all the time now and I use 2 packs of ramen noodles, just the noodles, not the seasoning packet. So easy. I also always use water chestnuts and no celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polly625

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I cut the ingredients in half but otherwise followed the recipe to a T. It came out great. I think the trick is not using low-sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
We love this soup! Even my young daughter eats this. I use pre-cooked frozen shrimp because I always have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Easy to throw together and doesn't need too many exotic ingredients. I'm a grad student, and this was great to serve to a bunch of friends for not much money ;) Great light soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was such a good recipe! I love really flavourful foods, so I was worried that it would be bland because it was so simple. That wasn't the case at all, it was awesome! Definately a keeper for nights when there isn't much time left to cook. Thanks alot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States