Oriental Shrimp Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Excellent soup! I followed the recipe for the most part but sauteed mushrooms with the garlic, used green onions that I put in at the end instead of regular onion, and added cilantro before serving. I used low-sodium chicken broth and only 1 tbs soy sauce and added about 1 tbs of lemon juice for personal taste. Also, I had to use powdered ginger because I didn't have fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by branchan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This tasted really good! I did alter by using chicken instead of shrimp, adding fresh cilantro, rice wine vinegar, & Sriracha hot chili sauce too taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Great soup! My entire family loved it. I added two whisked eggs at the very end. I have also made the soup with rice instead of noodles. The family loved it both ways. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
We really liked this at our house. It was easy to make. I didn't use celery becasue I don't like the taste, but I think water chestnuts would be good for some crunch. I also would use different noodles next time. The rice ones I got at my store were about 3 feet long in a big ball and very difficult to break or cut. Any helpful hints?! I'm using udon noddles the next time. Overall very good. Update: I make this all the time now and I use 2 packs of ramen noodles, just the noodles, not the seasoning packet. So easy. I also always use water chestnuts and no celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polly625

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Ok, after reading other reviews and analyzing the recipe, I made a few small changes, but the recipe would still be great without them (hence, the 5 stars!). The changes that I made were to use ground ginger instead of minced (what I had on hand), 2 cans of cut baby corn instead of carrots, sauteed mushrooms instead of the celery, and used ramen noodles in place of vermicelli. I also added a little sesame oil to my bowl and had everyone else at the table taste it...they ended up adding it to theirs also! I think the only change that I will make next time is to cook the noodles separately and put them into each bowl and then ladle the soup over the top. Just a personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
My husband and I loved this soup! We'll be making this many more times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. In my opinion, it had no flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was really good. Did moderate it slightly to suit my taste, like omitting the celery, and using angel hair pasta rather than vermicelli, but still a really good soup, and something I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I used this recipe because I had my husband's Ramen noodles left from his bachelor days.I did make a few changes and some additions (don't kill me) but I wanted to make this recipe more hardy. I used 1 tsp ginger spice instead of fresh, regular peas instead of snow peas, and vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. The Ramen noodles replaced rice vermicelli. I do not use (or have) crushed red pepper. My additions were: fresh spinach, sliced mushrooms, chopped green onion and canned water chestnuts added to the broth. The following were added in the last 5 minutes: Ramen noodles,thawed peas, thawed shrimp, canned bean sprouts, and even one chopped scrambled egg. The result was a very flavorful, filling meal served with Jasmine rice and chinese noodles. I am pleased with the results; it seemed restaurant quality and am looking forward to tonight's leftovers. **UPDATE** The next night I easily added another cup of water, more carrots, celery, spinach, celery and noodles: it's like the never ending soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Made as written, this is pretty boring. I ended up adding sliced green onions, sesame oil, a shrimp-flavored bouillon cube, and a little fish sauce. This improved it alot. I also thickened it a bit with cornstarch/water. Not bad but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States