Oriental Shrimp Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was such a good recipe! I love really flavourful foods, so I was worried that it would be bland because it was so simple. That wasn't the case at all, it was awesome! Definately a keeper for nights when there isn't much time left to cook. Thanks alot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
The soup was wonderful!! I will be making this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy Burdett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Excellent soup! I followed the recipe for the most part but sauteed mushrooms with the garlic, used green onions that I put in at the end instead of regular onion, and added cilantro before serving. I used low-sodium chicken broth and only 1 tbs soy sauce and added about 1 tbs of lemon juice for personal taste. Also, I had to use powdered ginger because I didn't have fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by branchan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This tasted really good! I did alter by using chicken instead of shrimp, adding fresh cilantro, rice wine vinegar, & Sriracha hot chili sauce too taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Great soup! My entire family loved it. I added two whisked eggs at the very end. I have also made the soup with rice instead of noodles. The family loved it both ways. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
We really liked this at our house. It was easy to make. I didn't use celery becasue I don't like the taste, but I think water chestnuts would be good for some crunch. I also would use different noodles next time. The rice ones I got at my store were about 3 feet long in a big ball and very difficult to break or cut. Any helpful hints?! I'm using udon noddles the next time. Overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polly625

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Ok, after reading other reviews and analyzing the recipe, I made a few small changes, but the recipe would still be great without them (hence, the 5 stars!). The changes that I made were to use ground ginger instead of minced (what I had on hand), 2 cans of cut baby corn instead of carrots, sauteed mushrooms instead of the celery, and used ramen noodles in place of vermicelli. I also added a little sesame oil to my bowl and had everyone else at the table taste it...they ended up adding it to theirs also! I think the only change that I will make next time is to cook the noodles separately and put them into each bowl and then ladle the soup over the top. Just a personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
My husband and I loved this soup! We'll be making this many more times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. In my opinion, it had no flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was really good. Did moderate it slightly to suit my taste, like omitting the celery, and using angel hair pasta rather than vermicelli, but still a really good soup, and something I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States