Oriental Shrimp Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I LOVED this soup, and my family thought it was good, but not jumping up and down kind of good. the tiny bit of red pepper really did give it more kick than I was expecting. I added a can of baby corn, green onions, and some broccoli that was left over from the previous nights dinner. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Very easy and very good followed the recipe exactly. I had to add extra noodles because I like them. WOuld also be good with scallops. I stored the extra noodles seperate, and the next day heater it all up together. I could not believe how good it tasted the 2nd.day. Next time I will make a double recipe of this wonderful soup. I would give this 10 stars if possible.next time I will add shittake mushrooms Irishtrout
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naijachop
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Good recipe! I modified it as neeeded . - skipped the celery (don't like it) and used 1/2 cup green onions instead -used almost 1lb of shrimp -doubled the crushed red pepper and added a pinch of cayene to make it hot (love it) -skipped the black pepper as I didn't have any at home. Having this for lunch today and it tastes pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Sorry, but as written this was very bland and did not even taste Asian at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Excellent! I added diced chicken breast and mushrooms which I stir fryed with the vegetables, then added the seasonings and broth. I substitued powdered ginger to taste. I also cooked the noodles separately and added them to the soup just before serving. This is great without the noodles for a healthier version. I absolutley love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Isleton, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Fast and delicious. I normally use frozen shrimp and frozen peas and just let them cook a little longer before I add the noodles. Also delicious with cellophane noodles in place of rice vermicelli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sammy
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Well, I couldn't fine rice vermicelli, so I used glass noodles, the problem was that you can't really break them. They all entangled together making the soup hard to eat. So you might not wanna do that, or you'll loose points in presentation. But the taste was wonderful. Thank you Lindsay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Tonite I needed this soup! I think it was quite tasty. I did substitute the snow peas for edamame. I also used frozen shrimp instead of fresh, and instead of vermicilli I used thin whole wheat pasta (still broke it up into 2 inch pieces). I opted to eliminate the celery, not a big fan of it. This soup was perfect for this chilly winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This soup is so good, and is as good as you make it. You can develop the flavor as you go, so make sure your broth is excellent. Add shrimp at the end since they take no time to cook. Really good with Napa cabbage, snow peas, carrots, and bean sprouts added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I had to use what I had on hand, so my ingredients do vary. Still, I needed the recipe for the relative amounts and techniques. I used some lemongrass from a pot on my patio, jarred minced ginger (no fresh,) asparagus (cut diagonally) and frozen uncooked, tail-on shrimp (which I gently heated in the 2 quarts of water that I eventually strained and added some chicken base to for a slightly fishy chick broth.) Everything else was basically the same. At the end, I added a dash of sesame oil. Just what I was craving tonight, and it was really quick:) Thanks for hitting the spot! I'm giving 'my' version 4 stars, because I didn't have enough fresh lime juice on hand, which would have bumped it up a notch. I'm betting that as written, it would be 5 stars. Looking forward to trying it again with fresh ginger and more limes. I kinda liked the asparagus though . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States