Oriental Sesame Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Awesome slaw! It has a sweet yet nutty flavor and was absolutely delicious! I used a bag of coleslaw mix, added a couple tsp. of lime juice and instead of grating the jicama I cut it into matchsticks. I didn't have black sesame seeds, so I toasted my regular ones and added it. This was a great side dish to grilled "Pork Tenderloin Marinade" from this site. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Awesome dressing in this slaw recipe! Just a tip: If you don't have sesame oil, don't even bother making this until you can get your hands on some. Sesame oil is super-packed with a nutty flavor (a little goes a long way) and without it, the dressing will be entirely different (i.e. bland!) than intended and will have virtually no Asian flavor at all. Great with a handful of toasted almonds tossed in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Delicious. I could eat the whole thing! I made some changes, used one head green cabbage a and one head purple cabbage. Didn't have sesame seeds, so omitted that. Added one orange , chopped up. For the dressing I used half part mayonaise, half part plain yogurt, with a little bit of lime and orange juice added. So pretty and so good. I served it with Kalua oven pork. I am salivating just thinking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I've lightened up the dressing by subbing 1/2 cup lowfat plain yogurt or lowfat sour cream and 1/2 cup light mayo and it was really good both ways. The dressing would be good on any combination of cole slaw ingredients you have on hand but I love the addition of jicama. I added some toasted slivered almonds, finely chopped red bell pepper, and green onions. I've also just added the dressing to the packaged cole slaw mix with a little chopped jicama. I found that scaling the recipe in half yields enough dressing for one bag of coleslaw mix. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
VERY good! I 'matchsticked' my jicama instead of grating and added a little lime juice. Otherwise made as directed. We'll have this again - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
My mom makes coleslaw during the summer for cook-outs. She doesn't bother with making her own dressing and just uses store-bought dressing. It was always too strong of a taste for me - I never enjoyed the heaviness and stickiness of it. I've been meaning to find a recipe to make my own slaw dressing that doesn't shock the taste buds and is more refreshing and light, and I found the perfect opportunity to finally do it this week, when I saw bags of cole slaw on sale. I like to try unique recipes, so I decided to use this one. It came out really well, everything that I was looking for: not overpowering, refreshing, and a bit different from the usual slaw dressings. It had a great balance of sweet and tangy, but not strong, so it also gave a good balance of taste between the dressing and the vegetables. I really enjoyed the hint of a "nutty" flavor from the sesame oil and sesame seeds, and I absolutely love that this recipe uses honey. The proportion of dressing to salad was perfect in the recipe, as well. I did make some minor changes, but only because I didn't have some of the ingredients. I used white balsamic vinegar instead of rice vinegar, white sesame seeds instead of black, and I didn't have jicama. Not sure how much of a difference this made, but I was happy with the end result. I made the slaw a day ahead, and the flavors blended really well during this time in the fridge. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Wow - I love this slaw! First time I have ever used jicama - not sure how necessary it is to this salad - pretty much tasteless to me - mine had the consistancy of a firm pear is the only way i can describe it. So I certainly wouldn't fret if you couldn't find one or didn't want to waste the money. I also couldn't find black sesame seeds so I just used toasted sesame seeds. I used low fat mayo and the dressing was still incredible. This slaw would be great on any kind of bbq sandwich or with a couple crab cakes perched on top which is what I used it for. All I can say is wowzer - will definately use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
My bad for using Napa cabbage as I think the problem was the dressing was too heavy for the delicacy of the Napa ... after ready reviews (looking for help and TY AR tasters!), I went back and added more jicama, only jullienned this time, not grated. That, along with a healthy dose of lime juice, brought it back to life. I also threw in some baby bok choy I had for additional crunch. I'd kill for some almonds right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was wonderful. I will certainly make it again. Served it with pulled pork sandwiches. I only used 1T of honey, which was perfect for our family; a little sweet but not too sweet. Also added chopped cilantro and green onion. I think next time I can cut back on the mayo. I'm sure it would be plenty good with less. Also, it only sat for an hour and was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is my favorite slaw I have ever made. It turned out fantastic I would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Claye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States