Oriental Sesame Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
My mom makes coleslaw during the summer for cook-outs. She doesn't bother with making her own dressing and just uses store-bought dressing. It was always too strong of a taste for me - I never enjoyed the heaviness and stickiness of it. I've been meaning to find a recipe to make my own slaw dressing that doesn't shock the taste buds and is more refreshing and light, and I found the perfect opportunity to finally do it this week, when I saw bags of cole slaw on sale. I like to try unique recipes, so I decided to use this one. It came out really well, everything that I was looking for: not overpowering, refreshing, and a bit different from the usual slaw dressings. It had a great balance of sweet and tangy, but not strong, so it also gave a good balance of taste between the dressing and the vegetables. I really enjoyed the hint of a "nutty" flavor from the sesame oil and sesame seeds, and I absolutely love that this recipe uses honey. The proportion of dressing to salad was perfect in the recipe, as well. I did make some minor changes, but only because I didn't have some of the ingredients. I used white balsamic vinegar instead of rice vinegar, white sesame seeds instead of black, and I didn't have jicama. Not sure how much of a difference this made, but I was happy with the end result. I made the slaw a day ahead, and the flavors blended really well during this time in the fridge. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Served alongside pulled pork sandwiches and it was goooooood....even those who don't normally like cole slaw tried and loved this recipe. I probably won't ever make another version of slaw...I tooke the advice of another reviewer and matchsticked the jicama which added a great crunch. I used one purple & one green cabbage and it ended up being enough for a party of 20! Would definitely encourage making the day before as the taste gets better the longer it's allowed to marinate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
i'm not sure if i had gotten some unusually large vegetables or what, but this made a ton of coleslaw. it was delicious, so i didn't mind, but i think it made a lot more than 8 servings. but whatever, it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I love this recipe. I did mess up because I was making the slaw and marinade for Ginger Glazed Mahi Mahi. I accidently put minced giner in the slaw. To remedy my error, I used half of all the veggies and doubled the sauce and sesame seeds. It tasted great even with the blunder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Wow - I love this slaw! First time I have ever used jicama - not sure how necessary it is to this salad - pretty much tasteless to me - mine had the consistancy of a firm pear is the only way i can describe it. So I certainly wouldn't fret if you couldn't find one or didn't want to waste the money. I also couldn't find black sesame seeds so I just used toasted sesame seeds. I used low fat mayo and the dressing was still incredible. This slaw would be great on any kind of bbq sandwich or with a couple crab cakes perched on top which is what I used it for. All I can say is wowzer - will definately use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Nice side dish. I'm not convinced the jicama add all that much to the flavor though. Next time, I may try it with larger pieces instead of shredding it. But really, it's probably just fine without the jicama. This was a nice contrast to our spicy beef entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I've lightened up the dressing by subbing 1/2 cup lowfat plain yogurt or lowfat sour cream and 1/2 cup light mayo and it was really good both ways. The dressing would be good on any combination of cole slaw ingredients you have on hand but I love the addition of jicama. I added some toasted slivered almonds, finely chopped red bell pepper, and green onions. I've also just added the dressing to the packaged cole slaw mix with a little chopped jicama. I found that scaling the recipe in half yields enough dressing for one bag of coleslaw mix. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Awesome dressing in this slaw recipe! Just a tip: If you don't have sesame oil, don't even bother making this until you can get your hands on some. Sesame oil is super-packed with a nutty flavor (a little goes a long way) and without it, the dressing will be entirely different (i.e. bland!) than intended and will have virtually no Asian flavor at all. Great with a handful of toasted almonds tossed in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
this was fantastic! I didn't have jicama but added some finely chopped onion. A little runny but maybe that was because I was little under on the mayo since I ran out...still great anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This was pretty good! I took a shortcut and used a bag slaw mix. I also used toasted sesame seeds (white) instead of black ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States