Oriental Sesame Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Unbelievable!!!!! Loved this recipe. Our supermarket had precut slaw, which made this very easy to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
My bad for using Napa cabbage as I think the problem was the dressing was too heavy for the delicacy of the Napa ... after ready reviews (looking for help and TY AR tasters!), I went back and added more jicama, only jullienned this time, not grated. That, along with a healthy dose of lime juice, brought it back to life. I also threw in some baby bok choy I had for additional crunch. I'd kill for some almonds right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
So beyond perfect. I made it exactly as written. I used a food processor for the Jicama...and it is so essential to this recipe.home run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Greer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Excellent recipe! I admit I was sceptical, but it is delish. I used Tahini (no sesame oil) and added toasted almonds, knock your socks off good. The problem is waiting for dinner to scarf it down. The family may not get to taste this after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I made this recipe almost exactly as written, but heeded other reviewers advice and cut my jicama into matchsticks. I also didn't have black sesame seeds (so didn't use them) and didn't have honey, so I sub'd brown sugar. The flavor of the dressing is so yummy. I was so excited to eat my salad when it was first assembled, but after sitting in the fridge for 3 hours, it lost a lot of it's flavor. Next time I make this, I will dress the salad right before I serve it. As other reviewers also noted, if you do not have sesame oil, don't bother making this salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Tastes like what I'd I've had in japanese restuarants. It's the sesame oil that sets this slaw apart from others. I forgot to add the honey but I did add a few splashes of mirin which is also a sweetner. Didn't have the black sesame seeds but did add sliced almonds & chopped scallion. Just "cuz I had a bit of lime that needed to be used, I added a small amount which I couldn't taste. Even the pickier eaters enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Very nice! The sesame oil was perfectly subtle which I liked. I think I will thin out the mayo and use less honey next time. I added chili oil to it for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was wonderful. I will certainly make it again. Served it with pulled pork sandwiches. I only used 1T of honey, which was perfect for our family; a little sweet but not too sweet. Also added chopped cilantro and green onion. I think next time I can cut back on the mayo. I'm sure it would be plenty good with less. Also, it only sat for an hour and was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
The dressing is delicious. I followed the recipe for the dressiong and was pleasantly surprised by the flavor. I omitted the jicama and black sesame seeds, but I don't think it took away from the finished slaw. I served it at a potluck where it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becks' Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
The dressing really makes it - I used Best Foods Real Mayonnaise because it's not as sweet and heavy as many others. I don't really care for coleslaw as a rule (I made it for the family), but this recipe has made me a convert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States