Oriental Sesame Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great! I served with a vietnemese nuoc mam, golden fried tofu and tomato stir fry, and steamed white rice. The flavors and varying textures worked so well and my family really liked it. Even with the mayo, it still tasted wonderfully Asian. Thanks for an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Awesome slaw! It has a sweet yet nutty flavor and was absolutely delicious! I used a bag of coleslaw mix, added a couple tsp. of lime juice and instead of grating the jicama I cut it into matchsticks. I didn't have black sesame seeds, so I toasted my regular ones and added it. This was a great side dish to grilled "Pork Tenderloin Marinade" from this site. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I was very happy with the results of this recipe. I only added 3/4 cup mayo--I wanted to keep the calories down. I added an extra Tablespoon of rice vinegar and a little salt and pepper. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Safford, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This is our new all time favorite coleslaw. I'll never use sugar again in coleslaw. Thank you for a great recipe! Revised: My husband and I started the Atkins Diet, I modified this recipe using 4 packets of Splenda instead of honey and it was still terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5COOKIEMUNCHERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
When I first read this recipe I thought the dressing sounded amazing. I didn’t have the jicama or black sesame seeds, but I wanted to make it any way. All I can say is WOW! The dressing absolutely makes this slaw wonderful, and IMHO the sesame oil in it is a must! Thank you! We’ll be making this one again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I knew I had a jicama in the refrigerator so I went out and bought a smallish head of cabbage. Also, I had carrots (who doesn't) so I thought I had all the ingredients for this recipe. Unfortunately, when I dug out the jicama, it was moldy so I had to run down the street to hated Walmart to buy another one. Just some backstory, no reflection on the recipe. So anyway. I had to use a combination of ff yogurt and lite mayo. I've been put on a serious diet by my doctor. I added a little lime juice, and since I had the lime out anyway, I grated some zest and put it in the slaw as well. I let the slaw rest for the prescribed 4 hours and then tasted it. It was a little dry. I added a bit more rice vinegar, but it still seemed like it was missing something. So I dug out and added some mysterious Chinese seasoning called "Salt Spice" that I picked up at the International Market. (the ingredients say "salt, spice" too). That seemed to do the trick and we enjoyed this dish very much. Thanks for the post, Celeste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
My favorite coleslaw recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Very delicious. Crunchy and tangy and beautiful. Next time I will add some shredded red cabbage also. I actually liked the slaw best the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I cut the mayo in half for a drier slaw and it turned out just fine. I added cherry tomatoes, chopped red onion and chopped bell pepper. I really like the sesame flavor in the dressing. This is a home run recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aneet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States