Oriental Sesame Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
So beyond perfect. I made it exactly as written. I used a food processor for the Jicama...and it is so essential to this recipe.home run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Greer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Excellent recipe! I admit I was sceptical, but it is delish. I used Tahini (no sesame oil) and added toasted almonds, knock your socks off good. The problem is waiting for dinner to scarf it down. The family may not get to taste this after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I made this recipe almost exactly as written, but heeded other reviewers advice and cut my jicama into matchsticks. I also didn't have black sesame seeds (so didn't use them) and didn't have honey, so I sub'd brown sugar. The flavor of the dressing is so yummy. I was so excited to eat my salad when it was first assembled, but after sitting in the fridge for 3 hours, it lost a lot of it's flavor. Next time I make this, I will dress the salad right before I serve it. As other reviewers also noted, if you do not have sesame oil, don't bother making this salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Tastes like what I'd I've had in japanese restuarants. It's the sesame oil that sets this slaw apart from others. I forgot to add the honey but I did add a few splashes of mirin which is also a sweetner. Didn't have the black sesame seeds but did add sliced almonds & chopped scallion. Just "cuz I had a bit of lime that needed to be used, I added a small amount which I couldn't taste. Even the pickier eaters enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Very nice! The sesame oil was perfectly subtle which I liked. I think I will thin out the mayo and use less honey next time. I added chili oil to it for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was wonderful. I will certainly make it again. Served it with pulled pork sandwiches. I only used 1T of honey, which was perfect for our family; a little sweet but not too sweet. Also added chopped cilantro and green onion. I think next time I can cut back on the mayo. I'm sure it would be plenty good with less. Also, it only sat for an hour and was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
The dressing is delicious. I followed the recipe for the dressiong and was pleasantly surprised by the flavor. I omitted the jicama and black sesame seeds, but I don't think it took away from the finished slaw. I served it at a potluck where it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becks' Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
The dressing really makes it - I used Best Foods Real Mayonnaise because it's not as sweet and heavy as many others. I don't really care for coleslaw as a rule (I made it for the family), but this recipe has made me a convert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great! I served with a vietnemese nuoc mam, golden fried tofu and tomato stir fry, and steamed white rice. The flavors and varying textures worked so well and my family really liked it. Even with the mayo, it still tasted wonderfully Asian. Thanks for an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Awesome slaw! It has a sweet yet nutty flavor and was absolutely delicious! I used a bag of coleslaw mix, added a couple tsp. of lime juice and instead of grating the jicama I cut it into matchsticks. I didn't have black sesame seeds, so I toasted my regular ones and added it. This was a great side dish to grilled "Pork Tenderloin Marinade" from this site. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States