Oriental Hot 'n' Sour Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I thought this was great. Made some changes: usd vegetable broth instead of chicken, used black pepper instead of peppercorns. We loved it. It was perfect for a cold night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I added snow peas and rice because I like a hearty soup. I served this along side our main dish and have no complaints. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This didn't taste at all like we had experienced....looking for a more traditional taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
easy to make especially for first timers without too many ingredients on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Does not have flavorful taste of restaurant soup; I question the recipe - 8 cups of broth - 6 green onions - are out of proportion to other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Even though I did add bean sprouts and tofu, the original recipe really has a good flavor. The vinegar gives it just the right amount of zip. This soup will be a staple in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Not really like soup I've had in Chinese places. I only gave it 3 stars because I added so much extra stuff to bring it along. I added cooking sherry, soy sauce, bean sprouts and 1t chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Amazing for when you're feeling under the weather! Super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I found it to be a nice soup, not quite like the ones in the restaurants. It is Low carb ( which is what i was looking for). I found that there was a bit too much rice vinegar for my taste- i will put in 25 mls instead. It is a good base to start with- i will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Very good version of hot and sour soup. My husband liked this recipe for both the flavor and ease of making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States