Oriental Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Agree with other reviewers that this was VERY salty, even with low sodium soy sauce! I liked the flavor, so perhaps 2 tsp. of soy sauce would be ample for the amount of green beans. I also used only about 1 TBS of oil, and I drizzled on about 2 tsp. sesame oil right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Great recipe! I used sesame oil instead of vegetable and I used 1 tbsp oyster sauce and 1 tbsp of hoisin sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malcriada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
The seasoning was a nice change to plain ole green beans. It was easy to prepare and stir fry. I love the addition of the oyster sauce with garlic, ginger and soy sauce as it always makes for a great sauce. However I just eye-balled the soy sauce and oyster sauce, to taste, never measuring. I omitted the red chili pepper, per family’s request, but added some fresh ground black pepper. Great flavors, not overwhelming and was good as a side dish tonight. The green beans were tender crisp, just right. This was served warm with, “Japanese Ginger Pork,” and “Easy Bok Choy,” also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I LOVE MY VEGGIES, & I MUST SAY I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This wasn't good to me and I don't think it came anywhere near to the restaurant taste. I followed the directions to a T and the sauces were too overbearing and I couldn't enjoy the taste of the beans. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Really Good. I did cut back the Soy in 1/2 and it was perfect. A nice diversion from plain old green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
These are really great. I often cook green beans by quick sauteing them. I used dried red pepper flakes and low sodium soy sayce, but otherwise followed the recipe. I like oyster sauce very much, and I often try to find recipes to use it, but I didn't find the flavor overwhelming by any means. I really enjoyed these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
These are gooood. I used flakes instead of a whole chili, and left out the soy altogether (I love oyster sauce and it's plenty salty without adding soy). Went great with Lime-Marinated Grilled Salmon from this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I will make this again! Love the oyster sauce! I used extra pepper for momre heat. Saucde didn't thicken for me, but that didn't affect the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Very good but not quite restraunt grade. I add extra pepper and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States