Oriental Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I served this with the "Miso Maple Glazed Salmon" also from this site and dinner was perfect. Simple and quick. Only change I made was adding a bit of mirin to balance out the saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
These are really great. I often cook green beans by quick sauteing them. I used dried red pepper flakes and low sodium soy sayce, but otherwise followed the recipe. I like oyster sauce very much, and I often try to find recipes to use it, but I didn't find the flavor overwhelming by any means. I really enjoyed these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
Great, easy recipe! But I think of it more as a vegetable side dish, rather than a salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
This dish was fabulous. I didn't have fresh ginger so I substituted ground ginger and I added more than a "pinch" of red pepper. This was so good I made it three days in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Excellent, just like the way restaurants serve them, although in the restaurant version the beans are deep fried first until the skin's shriveled. I only used 2 tbsp of oil and added a spring onion along with the garlic and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This is the closest to the restaurant version I have been able to find. It can be played with a little, I used Hoisin sauce instead of Oyster, because I had some in the fridge. I also used ground ginger instead of fresh and added a little more red pepper flakes. In an effort to make it more healthy, I pre-steamed the green beans slightly and dropped the oil amount to about a tsp. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chetwynd, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Harrisville, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This tastes even better than the green beans I usually get from Chinese restaurants! One suggestion: if you want it spicy, use extra peppers. I like to cut one open over the beans on my plate for maximum heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I will make this again! Love the oyster sauce! I used extra pepper for momre heat. Saucde didn't thicken for me, but that didn't affect the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I LOVE MY VEGGIES, & I MUST SAY I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Just made these last night, i used ground ginger for convenience. They were delicious!!! Not a bean left. I will make these again Very soon. What an easy and tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States