Oriental Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Really Good. I did cut back the Soy in 1/2 and it was perfect. A nice diversion from plain old green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
These are really great. I often cook green beans by quick sauteing them. I used dried red pepper flakes and low sodium soy sayce, but otherwise followed the recipe. I like oyster sauce very much, and I often try to find recipes to use it, but I didn't find the flavor overwhelming by any means. I really enjoyed these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
These are gooood. I used flakes instead of a whole chili, and left out the soy altogether (I love oyster sauce and it's plenty salty without adding soy). Went great with Lime-Marinated Grilled Salmon from this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I will make this again! Love the oyster sauce! I used extra pepper for momre heat. Saucde didn't thicken for me, but that didn't affect the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Very good but not quite restraunt grade. I add extra pepper and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This tastes even better than the green beans I usually get from Chinese restaurants! One suggestion: if you want it spicy, use extra peppers. I like to cut one open over the beans on my plate for maximum heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Hmmm...this wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. I don't agree with the statement that these are close to the restaurant version; I really don't think so. I used oyster sauce for the first time in this recipe. I will try to substitute it when called for in the future; I don't care for it. The remaining ingredients didn't really stand out, so if I make this again, I'll increase the amounts of everything and find something to replace the oyster sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This is the closest to the restaurant version I have been able to find. It can be played with a little, I used Hoisin sauce instead of Oyster, because I had some in the fridge. I also used ground ginger instead of fresh and added a little more red pepper flakes. In an effort to make it more healthy, I pre-steamed the green beans slightly and dropped the oil amount to about a tsp. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chetwynd, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Harrisville, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Excellent, just like the way restaurants serve them, although in the restaurant version the beans are deep fried first until the skin's shriveled. I only used 2 tbsp of oil and added a spring onion along with the garlic and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Not amazing, just pretty good. Made double and it went mighty fast with 7 people eating. Put in red chili flakes but not enough to give it more than a little flavour and left out the oyster sauce as I discovered I didn't have any in the kitchen. Better than just steaming them by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States