Oriental Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I made this recipe as a dipping sauce for appetizer meatballs. I didn't have any hoisin sauce, so used extra soy sauce. I also used a few dashes of ground ginger and substituted brown sugar for the white sugar. I doubled the recipe and it was enough for the meatballs and potstickers I had the next night! Even with all my substitutions, this recipe was a hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Wow! This tastes exactly like the dipping sauce that comes with the dumplings from my local Chinese take out place. The stuff is awesome. I used rice wine vinegar in place of the water. I will defintely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
I loved this recipe, I served it with the Won Ton Snacks recipe I found here too, I did lighten it up with about a tablespoon more water and a dash of rice wine vinegar, I also added a teaspoon of toasted sesame seeds, and a very tiny amount of red pepper flakes, I think this would be great a little more spicy and served with Lettuce Wraps. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
Excellent sauce to serve with Asian appetizers. When I served it with pot stickers at a party, everyone commented on the sauce more than the appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baraga, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Wow Jackie, what a fantastic dipping sauce! I added about five tablespoons of hoisin sauce because I love the stuff and I skipped the sugar as there's enough in the hoisin. Served this with homemade egg rolls for our Christmas Tree chopping party yesterday. This is the best and I thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Fantastic dip for spring rolls! We brought home spring rolls from a local restaurant & served them w/ this great sauce. I did decrease the soy some & it was still a bit salty even though I used low sodium. I think this recipe may ideally need a quality soy (I just kikkoman's low sodium) but it was still great even if a little salty. Would love to try w/ dumplings too...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
A great dipping sauce. Drizzled it on my Oriental Chicken Wraps. Used low sodium soy sauce and didn't bother to heat the sauce before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This dipping sauce is out of this world it's so good and is really terrific for the spring rolls and the dumplings. This would also be good for egrolls and wontons too. This was AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks, Jackie Smith
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
I also used this with the won ton snacks along with the sweet and sour recipe and some peanut dipping sauce. Excellent sauce! Used rice wine vinegar rather than white. Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was not edible, it was so salty I could have just used soy sauce, it was a waste of time to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States