Oriental Cold Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by PITA
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This recipe is perfect just the way it is. I don't think the zest or the lime juice needed to be adjusted and I had a rather large lime. Whole foods has 100% whole buckwheat Soba noodles in 8 oz. bags and I used two of those. Since I like very robust flavors and after reading many reviewer comments, here is what I added: small chopped pieces of 1/2 of a large red bell pepper, 3/4 cup edamame, 3 green scallions, 8 sliced snow peas, 1 Tbsp. toasted sesame seeds, 2 additional cloves of garlic, 1 tsp. crushed ginger, 1 whole fresh jalapeno pepper diced very small seeds and all. When it came to the sesame oil, I used 1 Tbsp. sesame and 1/2 Tbsp. hot chili oil. I forgot my nuts, but honestly after eating it, I didn't see how it was going to enhance my particular concoction. I had every intention and purchased cashews for the purpose. Oh well. This is a great salad as is or with your adds. I think the dressing amount is spot on as my Soba noodles and all the ingredients get completely coated. (I'm eating it as I write this.) Oh, I forgot, I did sub honey for the brown sugar as I was out. The bonus of this salad is that it's super healthy as well, especially if you are using the 100% buckwheat Soba noodles. Thanks Christiana Heins for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I've made this dish so many times!! It's delicious! I like to add a red or yellow bell pepper for a little crunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Yummy! Even my 4 year old daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Morton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
This is SO good! My boyfriend says it is one of the best things I make, and he wants it at least once every 10 days. My additions were simply some fresh grated ginger and some minced scallions. But, here's my secret: if you really want to change the recipe, focus on the quality of the soba. Unfortunately, most dry soba has only a teeny amount of buckwheat. Although soba recipes call for a buckwheat: wheat ratio of 4:1, a lot of commercial soba is the reverse 1:4. So, try to find soba with more buckwheat than wheat. Or, make your own, and then you can get the ratio just right. It is so incredibly easy to make soba, you won't believe it. There are plenty of instructions online. I like the instructions from the LA Times, bc it includes photos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly. It was sour (vinegary) and I had to add a lot of things to make it edible like more sugar and lots of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I made this with regular sesame oil since it was all I had. I also added red pepper and green onion, which I recommend. For me this recipe was decent but nothing special. I took it to a potluck and people liked it fine but it did not garner any special compliments. Maybe dark sesame oil makes a big difference but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Wow. This recipe is amazing and makes for the most satisfying bag lunch. Actually took this with me on an airplane and it was by far the best airplane food I've ever had. I used ramen noodles instead of soba and honey instead of brown sugar. I went for the japanese version and added chicken for more dimension. Best recipe I've tried in the last year. Oh wait! One more thing! I also added edamame to this which really sent it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Delicious! Lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This was very good. I followed exactly, except I had to use gluten free noodles. I don't know if it is because of the type of noodles used, but it seemed too strong with too much sauce, so I added 1.5 lbs of cubed cooked seasoned chicken and that seemed to absorb more of the sauce and flavors. All of my boys loved it and scored it a 4. I think green onions and maybe even some chopped cucumber would be good additions too. Excellent summer meal. Quick and easy to make, just need to plan a head so it has time to sit in the fridge. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States