Oreo® Cookie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
With a few changes, this is perfect. First off, I also reduced the amount of cream cheese by half, so it adds body but not too much tangy flavor. Second, I hate the synthetic taste of Cool Whip, so I use real whipped cream, or at least Reddi Whip. Finally (and I know this is a matter of opinion) I prefer it after 24 hours in the fridge, when the Oreos have gotten softer and more cake-like. My kids, however, prefer them same-day crunchy. I had no trouble covering the bottom of a 9x13 pan with the cookies, but I think it helps to grind them finer than the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Graham Nichols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This was a very good layered dessert. A bit time consuming as each layer is done seperatly but when done in a clear dish looks lovely. I used one box of pudding and one and a half blocks of cream cheese ( 12 oz total) and it wasn't tangy at all. I would go with the full two next time. I also would double the pudding amount ( 2 boxes and four cups of milk). I had plenty of cookies to cover the 9x13 inch pan with reserving one cup for on top. I crushed the cookies in a ziplock bag- they were piecy and gave a great texture to the dish. Mine was definitely firm enough to be cut into squares and held it's shape wonderfully, so not sure why some people said it was runny. I made it with chocolate pudding but may try vanilla with golden oreos next time. I plan to make this again and again! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
Loved this-I have chocolate lovers in my family, so I used devil's food pudding in place of the vanilla, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Took other reviewers advice and cut back on the cream cheese. Thank goodness I did because even though I love cream cheese, I couldn't imagine using two packages in this recipe. I could see how some people found the filling to be extremely tangy. Don't understand why the photo (which I realize was probably not taken by the submitter) was round when the directions clearly stated using a 9X13 inch pan. Also, from the photo, there are four alternate layers of black and white. I kept reading the directions to see if I was missing something. Nonetheless, the cake was quick and easy to put together and a hit with hubby, the kids and their boyfriends. Thanks so much Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2002
I made this and took it to my husband's office and the guys went crazy for it asking for the recipe for their wives! I used 2 small boxes of chocolate pudding mixed with 3 cups of milk and a teaspoon of vanilla for the pudding layer. For the cookie crust, I crushed the cookies fine and used the bite size pieces for the topping. Very, very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
Recipe needed some pizazz. To much white in the recipe. Chocolate pudding might have been better than vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I used chocolate pudding instead of vanilla and sprinkled hershey's cookies and cream candy bar on top which added a nice flavor. Make sure you blend the cream cheese mixture by a hand mixer, it is too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKANKYJO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I tried this recipe for a treat for work and I was very disappointed. I don't think it was as good as some of the reviews claimed. Where I live we consider this dessert a torte but this was not as nearly has thick as a torte. I had a terrible time with the crust. It didn't want to stick to the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Absolutely delicious! The only change I made was to use real whipped cream instead of cool whip. To make the whipped cream, use 3 cups of whipping cream (this will make about 6 cups of whipped cream, corresponding to 16 oz cool whip) with a tsp of vanilla and a few tsp of sugar mixed in. Also, I used the full amount of cream cheese listed in the recipe. I definitely recommend using the entire 2 pkgs of cream cheese. It's not tangy at all, and I think the recipe would be lacking without the cream cheese. I used vanilla pudding, but I'm sure chocolate would also taste good. Highly recommend this dessert, even though it's not healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This dessert is great and EASY! I'm always asked to make this for youth events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Éclair Cake

This no-bake cake has layers of deliciousness, and couldn’t be simpler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States