Oreo® Cookie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
With a few changes, this is perfect. First off, I also reduced the amount of cream cheese by half, so it adds body but not too much tangy flavor. Second, I hate the synthetic taste of Cool Whip, so I use real whipped cream, or at least Reddi Whip. Finally (and I know this is a matter of opinion) I prefer it after 24 hours in the fridge, when the Oreos have gotten softer and more cake-like. My kids, however, prefer them same-day crunchy. I had no trouble covering the bottom of a 9x13 pan with the cookies, but I think it helps to grind them finer than the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Graham Nichols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This was a very good layered dessert. A bit time consuming as each layer is done seperatly but when done in a clear dish looks lovely. I used one box of pudding and one and a half blocks of cream cheese ( 12 oz total) and it wasn't tangy at all. I would go with the full two next time. I also would double the pudding amount ( 2 boxes and four cups of milk). I had plenty of cookies to cover the 9x13 inch pan with reserving one cup for on top. I crushed the cookies in a ziplock bag- they were piecy and gave a great texture to the dish. Mine was definitely firm enough to be cut into squares and held it's shape wonderfully, so not sure why some people said it was runny. I made it with chocolate pudding but may try vanilla with golden oreos next time. I plan to make this again and again! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
Loved this-I have chocolate lovers in my family, so I used devil's food pudding in place of the vanilla, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Took other reviewers advice and cut back on the cream cheese. Thank goodness I did because even though I love cream cheese, I couldn't imagine using two packages in this recipe. I could see how some people found the filling to be extremely tangy. Don't understand why the photo (which I realize was probably not taken by the submitter) was round when the directions clearly stated using a 9X13 inch pan. Also, from the photo, there are four alternate layers of black and white. I kept reading the directions to see if I was missing something. Nonetheless, the cake was quick and easy to put together and a hit with hubby, the kids and their boyfriends. Thanks so much Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2002
I made this and took it to my husband's office and the guys went crazy for it asking for the recipe for their wives! I used 2 small boxes of chocolate pudding mixed with 3 cups of milk and a teaspoon of vanilla for the pudding layer. For the cookie crust, I crushed the cookies fine and used the bite size pieces for the topping. Very, very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
Recipe needed some pizazz. To much white in the recipe. Chocolate pudding might have been better than vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I used chocolate pudding instead of vanilla and sprinkled hershey's cookies and cream candy bar on top which added a nice flavor. Make sure you blend the cream cheese mixture by a hand mixer, it is too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKANKYJO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Absolutely delicious! The only change I made was to use real whipped cream instead of cool whip. To make the whipped cream, use 3 cups of whipping cream (this will make about 6 cups of whipped cream, corresponding to 16 oz cool whip) with a tsp of vanilla and a few tsp of sugar mixed in. Also, I used the full amount of cream cheese listed in the recipe. I definitely recommend using the entire 2 pkgs of cream cheese. It's not tangy at all, and I think the recipe would be lacking without the cream cheese. I used vanilla pudding, but I'm sure chocolate would also taste good. Highly recommend this dessert, even though it's not healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This dessert is great and EASY! I'm always asked to make this for youth events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I tried this recipe for a treat for work and I was very disappointed. I don't think it was as good as some of the reviews claimed. Where I live we consider this dessert a torte but this was not as nearly has thick as a torte. I had a terrible time with the crust. It didn't want to stick to the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Éclair Cake

This no-bake cake has layers of deliciousness, and couldn’t be simpler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States