Oreo® Cookie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This recipe is fantastic!! My husband and I make it anytime that we are asked to bring a dessert! Everyone loves it! It's quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
With a few changes, this is perfect. First off, I also reduced the amount of cream cheese by half, so it adds body but not too much tangy flavor. Second, I hate the synthetic taste of Cool Whip, so I use real whipped cream, or at least Reddi Whip. Finally (and I know this is a matter of opinion) I prefer it after 24 hours in the fridge, when the Oreos have gotten softer and more cake-like. My kids, however, prefer them same-day crunchy. I had no trouble covering the bottom of a 9x13 pan with the cookies, but I think it helps to grind them finer than the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Graham Nichols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Exactly what we were looking for! Easy to make, and delicious. My mother-in-law is a VERY good cook and she asked ME for the recipe. It's almost ALWAYS the other way around. Thank you, from all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liljewel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I made this for New Years. I thought it was great and my guest liked it too even though it was a little messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Whitman, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I made this for my boyfriend who loves oreos and wanted a dessert different from oreo cheesecake. I decided to go for this one because all the ingredients sounded delish together and it was so easy to make i whipped it up in 15 minutes. When he tasted it he said it was just like his mom's pudding pie but with oreos not a bad thing at all but I don't know the oreo CAKE part made me think it would be more solid for some reason. It really was amazing but don't think you're going to be able to cut it in perfect slices to serve...unless you freeze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This was a very good layered dessert. A bit time consuming as each layer is done seperatly but when done in a clear dish looks lovely. I used one box of pudding and one and a half blocks of cream cheese ( 12 oz total) and it wasn't tangy at all. I would go with the full two next time. I also would double the pudding amount ( 2 boxes and four cups of milk). I had plenty of cookies to cover the 9x13 inch pan with reserving one cup for on top. I crushed the cookies in a ziplock bag- they were piecy and gave a great texture to the dish. Mine was definitely firm enough to be cut into squares and held it's shape wonderfully, so not sure why some people said it was runny. I made it with chocolate pudding but may try vanilla with golden oreos next time. I plan to make this again and again! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
My boyfriend loves oreos, so I decided to make this cake for his 23rd birthday. He couldn't get enough! He absolutely loved it. It was very tasty and easy to make. The only things I changed in the recipe was that I put in only ONE 8 ounce package of cream cheese and used chocolate pudding instead of vanilla. I recommend this Oreo Cookie Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahiswright
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Growing up, I always knew this recipe as Dirt Cake. Either way, it is the BEST! I took it to work for Food Day and it was very well received. People were saying they felt sick because they ate too much :) Haha. I used a *little* less cream cheese than the recipe called for. Next time I might experiment with different flavors of pudding such as chocolate or Oreo. But, this recipe is absolutely perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This is a great recipe. Everyone loves it when I bring it to a party. The only changes that I make are to put all the Oreo cookies, except 5 or 6, in the food processor. This makes a really good crust, it reminds me of the Friendly's Oreo cake. I also use white chocolate pudding or Oreo pudding when I can get it. I crush the left over cookies and put them on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I made this for my son's football team. It didn't last long! A couple mentioned it was the best dessert they had ever had. I followed the recipe exactly as it was written. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Éclair Cake

This no-bake cake has layers of deliciousness, and couldn’t be simpler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States