Oreo™ Cookie Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I used a chocolate cake mix instead of the butter cake mix. I put cake mix in two 8-9 inch round pans. Then I sprinkled the cookie mixture over the top of both and pressed it onto the top of the cake mix. After it cooled I used the filling from the Chocolate Covered Oreo Cookie Cake recipe in Allrecipes as the filler in between the two layers and for the topping. All the guests at my daughter’s birthday party loved it! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I mixed the chips/oreos mixture right into the cake batter instead of layering it. I baked it in (2) 8" rounds-they were very full but baked up very nicely without spillage. I was planning to make a 4 layer cake w/a filling in between but it's so good we keep munching on it plain:) I'll definately hang on to this recipe to use in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I made this cake yesterday and it was good, not spectacular. After reading the reviews, I was expecting it to blow me away but it didn't. It was just a good chocolate cake. I did frost it with a pre-made chocolate buttercream frosting, but other than that I made it exactly by the directions. Again, good chocolate cake recipe but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseKimmi
Home Town: Hansford, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ruffin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This came out awfully dry although I followed directions to the T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Very chocolaty and sweet! Used Duncan Hines Chocolate Butter Cake mix, and followed recipe exactly, except I used Double Stuff Oreos and extra chocolate chips. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was nice jazzed-up box cake recipe. I don't care for glaze, so I frosted it with cool whip and added more crushed oreos on top. The oreos didn't stay layered; they sunk to the bottom. I don't know if that was something I did wrong. It still tasted good, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neen718

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Love the cake. And my wife teachers love it to very ease to make. Ray!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tazman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I like the recipe, but thought it needed a bit more of the cookie mixture. I also thought the glaze was a little too thin, so I added an extra 1/2 cup of confectioner's sugar to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Yikes - this time it was different - I have made this recipe many times over with fabulous results - this last time I used generic oreo cookies and it significantly didn't taste as good. I didn't tell my family and they noticed something wasn't quite the same right off the bat (they said it was OK but not as good). Advice: use only Oreos or Hydrox/Sunshine cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States