Oregon Salmon Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Best salmon patties we've ever had! I followed previous reviewers advice and added a large clove of (chopped) garlic to the onions. The mixture was more than wet enough and I didnt need any of the reserved juice. I used 1/2 cup of crushed crackers in the mix, I found that only 1/3 of 2/3 cup, as the recipe indicated, was not enough. Refrigerating the patties before cooking really helped hold them together. Other changes: dijon mustard for the dry, dried parsley for fresh. I added about 1/4 tsp dried dill also. For the salmon I used pink boneless/skinless canned salmon. I served these with the Lemon Sauce for Salmon Patties posted on this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
With the help of some other reviews, I used this recipe to make a meal that could easily be served in a fine restaurant. The end result was fantastic. I began by sauteing some baby bella mushrooms in butter and balsamic vinegar. When it came to the actual patties I, like many others, did not use the 3/4 cup liquid from the salmon. In fact, I didn't use canned salmon at all. I had grilled some salmon in butter and onions two nights before and had some left over. I just picked this apart and used as much as the recipe looked like it could use. I also added a little more than 1/3 cup of the crackers. (I used buttery Ritz crackers and they worked great.) I also chose to add some dill and lemon pepperto the pattie mixture and instead of the butter or shortening, I substituted olive oil. (I saved the butter for the mushrooms and the sauce.) Finally, I made the lemon sauce for salmon patties from this sight like so many others suggested. This sauce made the meal. I will admit that the patties probably would have been a bit dry without it. I put down a bed of the mushrooms, set a pattie on top and then topped the pattie with a generous tablespoon of the sauce. I finished the presentation with a swirl of the sauce around the pattie on the plate to make it look like it belonged on a menu in some upscale restaurant. It looked amazing and had a taste to match. I will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
438 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
The whole family loved these and ate them all up!! I doubled the recipe and made about 15-17 of these. I will *definitely* try and find BONELESS canned salmon next time. That was a bit tedious trying to remove all the stubborn bones...and just a tad gross. I used other reviewers recommendations and used LEMON JUICE instead of the canned juice--added OLD BAY seasoning [but will add more next time]--added some cayenne pepper--and fried in OLIVE OIL & BUTTER. I also refrigerated these for an hour or two before I fried them so they'd be easier to handle and stay together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelly8mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I used dried parsley flakes. Added dill, garlic powder and pepper. Left out the dried mustard. Cooked the onions in salted butter. I used just a splash of salmon juice even though I doubled the recipe and 2 1/2 cups of ritz cracker crumbs. They were a little soft to handle but they fried up perfect. Very delicous. UPDATE: I made these again and this time I didn't feel like making a mess with coating the patties in the crackers so I just mixed all the crackers right in with the salmon. It was just as good and a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I make a version of this but instead of crackers we use Frenches Fried Onions in a can and crush about 1 cup. Add to mixture with Old Bay Seasoning, 1/2 t dill weed, 1/2 t celery salt adn this holds the patties firm. For a topping we make a sauce of Miracle whip, pickle relish and 1 t lemon juice with 1/2 t dill weed mix and top with chees on a toasted bun. Hubby can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Needed something quick for Fri evening supper and had a can of salmon. These were excellent. Only change I made was to drain the salmon completely for a drier patty. With the 2 eggs, they stayed together fine. Also added a teaspoon of Old Bay seasoning for a little zip. And, served them with creamed peas. Thanks Jonnylen. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Woo hoo! It was a little bland at first but thankfully I tasted the mix first. I added cumin, cayenne and oregano. I did not coat the cakes with the extra breadcrumbs nor did I add the reserved liquid. I also baked them at 375 for 8 minutes on each side instead of frying. Ate them with a spicy french mayonnaise. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Easy and tasty. Following reviewers advice I omitted the liquid from the can and added 2 T. lemon juice, but the patties were a bit dry. Next time I'd add a T. or two of can liquid. I also added Old Bay Seasoning and dill, both of which gave the patties great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
This is a great salmon recipe--nothing needed changed, and I used all the reserve liquid and it didn't make the patty too moist. My fresh parsley went bad before I could use it, so I just used dried parsley flakes instead and it still turned out great! I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICYBLUEROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
These were quite delicious, although I was very skeptical after opening the can of salmon! I've never used canned salmon before. I took the advice of others and did not use the extra liquid - definately didn't need it. I also added a clove of garlic and 1/4 tsp of celery salt. We'll definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Yummy Lemon Salmon Burgers

See how to make quick-and-easy salmon burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States