Oregon Salmon Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Tried it as published. Liked it but thought it was a tad bland. Tried it again using Old Bay in lieu of the dry mustard. Liked it better. Could be just because I'm from the mid-Atlantic area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Hicks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
It is tough to make a change-over to gluten free with some recipes. This one was sooo easy and delicious. I just subbed the cracker crumbs with gf bread crumbs could use a bit of a spice lift - but it was gobbled up. Great stuff. Was going for photo but it was gone before I had a chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Tasted like the restaurant ones, the shortening is not necessary per se, but I did not have enough cracker crumbs so it was doomed to failure anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Just assembled the recipe; haven't actually cooked it yet but had problems. First, there was less than 1/2 cup of liquid in my 14.75-ounce can of sockeye salmon so I could not reserve the indicated 3/4 cup. But that wasn't much of a problem because even without the added water, the mixture was like soup. I had to add all of the cracker crumbs to arrive at the consistency necessary to form the patties. We'll have these for dinner in about an hour and I'll probably add to this rating after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Excellent! I live in the south and 'round here a lot of times we make the patties and bread them with cornmeal and then fry. That is how I grew up eating them and have always made them myself. This is a wonderful variation on them. They taste much more decadent. I just breaded them with saltine cracker crumbs so I can only imagine how delicious they will be when I bread them with townhouse or ritz cracker crumbs next time I make this recipe. A few things to mention, I omitted the onion and just used onion powder and a little garlic powder and a bit of dried dill. Delish! My normally super picky 3 year old gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
sauteed onions do not compliment salmon AT ALL. and the mustard? my whole fam asked me to go back to my mom's old recipe: egg, cracker crumbs, milk, dill and lemon, pepper. and lots of fresh squeezed lemon after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
These are worth making and taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Made this on a Sunday afternoon with very few of my staples in the house, including onions . In a large bowl I put the drained canned salmon, eggs, dried onions (sorry, purists ... I thought dried was better than none), and because I didn't read the recipe correctly, all the crumbs (you know, when the kids are all about the kitchen & you think you're reading it correctly, yet you're not). Moistened & seasoned it according to the recipe. Tasting the 1st finished batch, I added my own sea salt & homemade "season salt". I did not add additional crumbs on the outside, but they fried up perfectly crispy & held together great. Looked just like the picture:) Everyone loved them, including the picky eater, and that is saying a lot (there are 7 of us!). It's a great recipe that can be seasoned according to taste & is flexible enough for adaptation (or mistakes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I made these as written, except for a couple minor changes. I added lemon pepper and garlic to the seasonings. I also substituted coconut flour for the bread crumbs, because my daughter is gluten free. Coconut flour behaves differently, so I added a little at a time and stopped when it looked about right. I also used coconut flour for the coating. Refrigerating helped, but wasn't necessary. I cooked the first two right up because we were hungry, and they were fine. The other four I refrigerated till we were done. They held together better, but I wouldn't hesitate to skip refrigeration if I was in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This was absolutely delicious. I am always trying to come up with SOMETHING to do with leftover grilled salmon. This does it!!! Didn't change a thing except using leftovers instead of can. Thank you JONNYLEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY SINK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States