Oregon Salmon Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Made this on a Sunday afternoon with very few of my staples in the house, including onions . In a large bowl I put the drained canned salmon, eggs, dried onions (sorry, purists ... I thought dried was better than none), and because I didn't read the recipe correctly, all the crumbs (you know, when the kids are all about the kitchen & you think you're reading it correctly, yet you're not). Moistened & seasoned it according to the recipe. Tasting the 1st finished batch, I added my own sea salt & homemade "season salt". I did not add additional crumbs on the outside, but they fried up perfectly crispy & held together great. Looked just like the picture:) Everyone loved them, including the picky eater, and that is saying a lot (there are 7 of us!). It's a great recipe that can be seasoned according to taste & is flexible enough for adaptation (or mistakes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I made these as written, except for a couple minor changes. I added lemon pepper and garlic to the seasonings. I also substituted coconut flour for the bread crumbs, because my daughter is gluten free. Coconut flour behaves differently, so I added a little at a time and stopped when it looked about right. I also used coconut flour for the coating. Refrigerating helped, but wasn't necessary. I cooked the first two right up because we were hungry, and they were fine. The other four I refrigerated till we were done. They held together better, but I wouldn't hesitate to skip refrigeration if I was in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This was absolutely delicious. I am always trying to come up with SOMETHING to do with leftover grilled salmon. This does it!!! Didn't change a thing except using leftovers instead of can. Thank you JONNYLEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY SINK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I used seasoned bread crumbs instead of crackers. Delicious. I use the Chicken of the Sea pink salmon, that comes in a pouch. No bones or skin! Easy, easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
These were quite good. I'd happily make them again (if I can find canned salmon that's not as disturbing--a word on that later). The spicing was nice, the flavors nice, everything. I did bake instead of fry them (10 minutes each side at 350F), and I used dijon mustard instead of dry mustard. Regarding the disturbing salmon, this was my first time buying canned salmon. It was FILLED with bones, and the actual spine with vertebrae. It was annoying to pick out, and I was actually really grossed out by the vertebrae. I don't think I could make this again if it meant having to sort the salmon again.. so maybe there's canned salmon out there that is skinless and boneless like canned tuna? Obviously not a comment on the recipe, but just a note in case there are other first-time canned salmon buyers out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I would give this 5 stars altho i only used it as a base since this is the first time i have made salmon patties i added onion powder,garlic powder,dill weed,lemon pepper and touch of cayenne also i did not put salmon liquid in with salmon mixture instead as they were frying i put a teaspoon of the liquid on each pattie i wish there were words to say how flavorful these were omg i will be making these at least once a week i am making lemon sauce to go on them but not sure if it could make them any better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Beloved hubby loved this recipe. Very easy to assemble and pattied really well. The patties didn't fall apart when turned. They had wonderful mild flavor and the three extra patties I froze for a later meal. Thanks for posting the keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Stratton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
wonderful recipe. I use frozen salmon which I poach in a seasoned bath until done. I let the salmon cool, save some of the poaching water, flake it and add the ingredients. Absolutely delicious with the fresh parsley and dried mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Absolutely use the lemon sauce! I also used some of the other ideas and added garlic and lemon pepper. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Since finding this recipe here years ago, I've never used any other recipe for salmon patties. I've misplaced my original printout and had to come and get another. I make the patties exactly as the recipe instructs and haven't ever been disappointed. I use a butter cracker similar to Ritz as the crumbs. However, I don't usually get a full ¾ cup of liquid drained from the can of salmon and have to add a little chicken broth which really can't be noticed in the tasting. Excellent recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoyo1198

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States