Oregon Salmon Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I enjoyed these although my boyfriend thought they were too plain and needed a creamy sauce. I used smoked salmon instead of canned, so I just eyeballed the breadcrumbs and added water to the consistency I wanted. Also tossed in some extra seasonings: fresh dill, garlic powder, pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I used two small (5 oz) cans of boneless, skinless salmon. I did not use the salmon liquid. I did not have fresh parsley so I used one tbsp. of dry parsley. I used about one cup of Reduced Fat Ritz cracker crumbs and found that I needed a little more than 1/3 cup of crumbs in the salmon mixture for a better patty consistency. I made six patties, which I coated on both sides with the remaining crumbs. I browned the patties on both sides in a nonstick frying pan in two tbsp. of unsalted butter and one tbsp. of olive oil. They were delicious! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Added some flour because the patties were a little too moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
They are perfect. I took the advice of other reviewers and use 2/3 cup of breadcrumbs. I also added a teaspoon of dill weed. I tipped them with a dollop of a spicy sauce I made with mayo, Cajun seasoning and lemon juice. I cooked them in vegetable oil, instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha Echols

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Euclid, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Super easy to make and delicious! Keep an eye on them when you fry them to not over burn them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I served this with rice, steamed carrots, and the "Lemon Sauce for Salmon Patties" recipe from this site. My husband was like, "I could just eat the salmon and leave the rice!" I think sauteing the onion really makes a huge difference! I made the following changes: (1) Added 1 tsp minced garlic (jarred) near the end of cooking the onion (2) Added 1/4 tsp dill (3) Subbed about 1 Tbsp dried parsley for the fresh (4) Used 20 Ritz crackers and added all of them to the salmon mix and skipped breading (5) Didn't add any extra salmon juice (although next time I'll add maybe 2-4 Tbsp) They were DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Didnt have parsley so subbed Basil and rolled in Couscous was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Coker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
really easy to make and the flavor is amazing. My guys can't wait for the next ones to come out of the pan. Next I'm going to try grilling them. Thanks for the recipe its terrific!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by de pushee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
As a quick tip, I found 3/4 of a sleeve of Ritz crackers to be the adequate amount to crush. Since it is salmon fishing season here in Seattle WA and my hubs is quite the fisherman, I baked a fresh salmon at 400 degrees for 15 mins and allowed to cool before flaking and de-boning it by hand. Due to the fact it was fresh, I didn't have any canned liquid, so added a TBS of white wine and a TBS of lemon juice. Added some minced garlic while sauteing the onions, a little paprika along with the mustard powder. Don't bother coating in the crackers, just throw all ingredients into a bowl and shape into patties. **A great tip for a sauce to this....take basic tarter sauce, add some dill (fresh or dried), Miracle Whip and lemon juice with some cracked black pepper. It turns into a gourmet sauce:) Made with roasted garlic dill mashed potatoes and it was out of this world!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna Manning
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
You will need more cracker crumbs and be careful about how much liquid you add. The flavor is awesome! I doubled the recipe and wound up using 2.5 bags of crackers (give or take some) and roughly 2/3 cup of the liquid. They turned out perfect! Be careful turning them. I used a Louisiana Remoulade on top and it was so good. I'll make them again, my kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Manning

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States