Oregon Salmon Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Best salmon patties we've ever had! I followed previous reviewers advice and added a large clove of (chopped) garlic to the onions. The mixture was more than wet enough and I didnt need any of the reserved juice. I used 1/2 cup of crushed crackers in the mix, I found that only 1/3 of 2/3 cup, as the recipe indicated, was not enough. Refrigerating the patties before cooking really helped hold them together. Other changes: dijon mustard for the dry, dried parsley for fresh. I added about 1/4 tsp dried dill also. For the salmon I used pink boneless/skinless canned salmon. I served these with the Lemon Sauce for Salmon Patties posted on this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
With the help of some other reviews, I used this recipe to make a meal that could easily be served in a fine restaurant. The end result was fantastic. I began by sauteing some baby bella mushrooms in butter and balsamic vinegar. When it came to the actual patties I, like many others, did not use the 3/4 cup liquid from the salmon. In fact, I didn't use canned salmon at all. I had grilled some salmon in butter and onions two nights before and had some left over. I just picked this apart and used as much as the recipe looked like it could use. I also added a little more than 1/3 cup of the crackers. (I used buttery Ritz crackers and they worked great.) I also chose to add some dill and lemon pepperto the pattie mixture and instead of the butter or shortening, I substituted olive oil. (I saved the butter for the mushrooms and the sauce.) Finally, I made the lemon sauce for salmon patties from this sight like so many others suggested. This sauce made the meal. I will admit that the patties probably would have been a bit dry without it. I put down a bed of the mushrooms, set a pattie on top and then topped the pattie with a generous tablespoon of the sauce. I finished the presentation with a swirl of the sauce around the pattie on the plate to make it look like it belonged on a menu in some upscale restaurant. It looked amazing and had a taste to match. I will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
461 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
The whole family loved these and ate them all up!! I doubled the recipe and made about 15-17 of these. I will *definitely* try and find BONELESS canned salmon next time. That was a bit tedious trying to remove all the stubborn bones...and just a tad gross. I used other reviewers recommendations and used LEMON JUICE instead of the canned juice--added OLD BAY seasoning [but will add more next time]--added some cayenne pepper--and fried in OLIVE OIL & BUTTER. I also refrigerated these for an hour or two before I fried them so they'd be easier to handle and stay together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelly8mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I used dried parsley flakes. Added dill, garlic powder and pepper. Left out the dried mustard. Cooked the onions in salted butter. I used just a splash of salmon juice even though I doubled the recipe and 2 1/2 cups of ritz cracker crumbs. They were a little soft to handle but they fried up perfect. Very delicous. UPDATE: I made these again and this time I didn't feel like making a mess with coating the patties in the crackers so I just mixed all the crackers right in with the salmon. It was just as good and a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I make a version of this but instead of crackers we use Frenches Fried Onions in a can and crush about 1 cup. Add to mixture with Old Bay Seasoning, 1/2 t dill weed, 1/2 t celery salt adn this holds the patties firm. For a topping we make a sauce of Miracle whip, pickle relish and 1 t lemon juice with 1/2 t dill weed mix and top with chees on a toasted bun. Hubby can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Needed something quick for Fri evening supper and had a can of salmon. These were excellent. Only change I made was to drain the salmon completely for a drier patty. With the 2 eggs, they stayed together fine. Also added a teaspoon of Old Bay seasoning for a little zip. And, served them with creamed peas. Thanks Jonnylen. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Woo hoo! It was a little bland at first but thankfully I tasted the mix first. I added cumin, cayenne and oregano. I did not coat the cakes with the extra breadcrumbs nor did I add the reserved liquid. I also baked them at 375 for 8 minutes on each side instead of frying. Ate them with a spicy french mayonnaise. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Easy and tasty. Following reviewers advice I omitted the liquid from the can and added 2 T. lemon juice, but the patties were a bit dry. Next time I'd add a T. or two of can liquid. I also added Old Bay Seasoning and dill, both of which gave the patties great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
This is a great salmon recipe--nothing needed changed, and I used all the reserve liquid and it didn't make the patty too moist. My fresh parsley went bad before I could use it, so I just used dried parsley flakes instead and it still turned out great! I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICYBLUEROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
These were quite delicious, although I was very skeptical after opening the can of salmon! I've never used canned salmon before. I took the advice of others and did not use the extra liquid - definately didn't need it. I also added a clove of garlic and 1/4 tsp of celery salt. We'll definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States