Oregon Salmon Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I was so thrilled after watching the video for these salmon cakes thinking I had finally found an easy great recipe for salmon cakes! Imagine my surprise when following the recipe, I had nothing but a huge soupy mess instead of the nice salmon patties I should have had. The printed recipe is not even close to the recipe that is used in the video! The printed recipe says to reserve 3/4 cup of salmon liquid, of which I didn't get close to from my can of salmon, so I added water to bring it up to 3/4 cup, the first error. The next error said to add 1/3 of the 2/3 cup of cracker crumbs, not 1/3 cup to the mixture of 3/4 cup reserved liquid, onions, salmon, parsley and mustard. So, I now have this soupy mix that will NEVER be salmon patties no matter how hard I try. I guess I will need to crush more crackers until I have the consistency of the ones in the video. I hope I have enough crackers. Next time, I try this recipe, I will watch the video several times to copy down the actual ingredients and amounts before I waste a lot of food. I hope this turns out next time. Please adjust the written recipe before others have the same problems I've had. Oh, and one more thing, no where in the printed recipe does it mention the patties can be baked at 375 degrees for 8 minutes. Thanks....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
We use only one egg, 14 crushed crackers, ground pepper, dry mustard, and Worcestershire sauce. After cooking, top with a sauce of mayo, chopped green olives, and dill. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Hanson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Great, quick dish! I used the entire 2/3 cups of rice crackers directly into the mixture. I also added grated fresh ginger and substituted dried parsley. Cooked in olive oil, in place of lard. I did used the salmon liquid, however my canned salmon only had 1/4 cup. I substituted egg whites for whole egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Delicious. Great way to get the whole family to eat fish. I used the pouches of salmon, so there wasn't much juice, but I didn't need it anyway. Next time I'll try a nice lemon caper sauce over them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroy, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I should've read the other reviews and omitted the liquid; I also should've refrigerated them as well. but in spite of my errors, they turned out quite well. I'll be making them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I hardly changed a thing. Used three 6 OZ cans of salmon, drained them and the liquid equaled about 1/2 cup. I used all the liquid in the mixture. Added some Old Bay Seasoning, used dried parsley, garlic. Fried in 1/2 butter and 1/2 vegetable oil. Made about 3 hours before dinner and put in refrig. Made patties when I was ready to fry them and sprinkled cracker crumbs on both sides. Just Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly except I added 1 tablespoon of Old Bay and my can of salmon had only 1/4 cup liquid. The patties were so loose & wet, I can't imagine adding 3/4 liquid. I chilled mine for about an hour but it didn't really help. After sauteing to a golden brown, the interior remained too mushy. But the flavor was wonderful especially with the Lemon Sauce for Salmon Patties from this site which was recommended by others. Next time, I will not add the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Very good. Now if I just knew how to make the cabbage relish that I've had in the restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I make these all the time and they are very tasty. But I use thinly sliced green onions instead of yellow ones. The flavor is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I substitute Quick Oats for the cracker crumbs. It makes a delicious meal a little more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States