Oregon Salmon Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
These were pretty good I guess, but none of my family went nuts over it. I probably won't make it again unless I can use fresh salmon, which is tough to do since I'm from Oklahoma. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Thiessen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
These were very delish. A little too moist to handle easily but they cooked up light and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Loved these salmon patties - be sure to refrigerate at least 1/2 hour before cooking. For cracker crumbs I used bite size everything crackers from Trader Joe's (crumbled in plastic bag w/rolling pin) for a delicious "everything" flavor. Did not have dry mustard on hand and substituted Dijon mustard to taste. The best salmon patties I've ever made. - Susan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
The majority of the recipe worked...way to much liquid if you use the reserved...i didn't use it all and added a tablespoon of lemon juice..i used less the half of the liquid called for and they were to mushy and soggy to form ..i had to use more cracker crumbs and i dipped them in panko crumbs before frying. I added old bay and used green onions. When i make them again i probably wont use any liquid at all from the can of salmon and just a little lemon juice...my main problem health wise was having to use tons of cracker crumbs to keep them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Great basic recipe. I did make a few minor changes. I don't like the mustard in them, did use a splash of Worcestershire, 1 tbls Old Bay, I also grate my onions and caramelize with tbls garlic paste. I always use cracker meal. It keeps forever in the frig. Use no liquid. Also I use Red sock-eye salmon. It is so much better than the pink. Have to buy 2 cans, as it comes in 7 1/2 oz per can. Made with the dill sauce from here, served with rice pilaf and roasted broccoli/cauliflower, garlic bread~~~ It was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This recipe had absolutely no flavor. The patties wouldn't hold together even though I used less salmon liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Turned out pretty good for a fish burger! The taste is good, but it could be a little better, maybe add more mustard or something. I used up all of the ritz crackers and didn't use as many onions. Also be careful to get boneless skinless salmon! Otherwise, worth it, something different to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laurenbrooktrout
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
The flavor was really good, but I wished I had read the reviews first and not added the reserved liquid, as others had suggested. They didn't have quite the right consistency, and they were falling apart. I think if I had followed this advice, I would've given this recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I have made these for years and my family loves them. I add lemon juice instead of the mustard. However, I tried this recipe as printed to see if it was better. It was ok, but I will go back to lemon juice and add minced garlic as usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I was so thrilled after watching the video for these salmon cakes thinking I had finally found an easy great recipe for salmon cakes! Imagine my surprise when following the recipe, I had nothing but a huge soupy mess instead of the nice salmon patties I should have had. The printed recipe is not even close to the recipe that is used in the video! The printed recipe says to reserve 3/4 cup of salmon liquid, of which I didn't get close to from my can of salmon, so I added water to bring it up to 3/4 cup, the first error. The next error said to add 1/3 of the 2/3 cup of cracker crumbs, not 1/3 cup to the mixture of 3/4 cup reserved liquid, onions, salmon, parsley and mustard. So, I now have this soupy mix that will NEVER be salmon patties no matter how hard I try. I guess I will need to crush more crackers until I have the consistency of the ones in the video. I hope I have enough crackers. Next time, I try this recipe, I will watch the video several times to copy down the actual ingredients and amounts before I waste a lot of food. I hope this turns out next time. Please adjust the written recipe before others have the same problems I've had. Oh, and one more thing, no where in the printed recipe does it mention the patties can be baked at 375 degrees for 8 minutes. Thanks....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Yummy Lemon Salmon Burgers

See how to make quick-and-easy salmon burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States