Oregon Salmon Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
The ratio of salmon to cracker crumbs and mustard is just right, but I changed the recipe alot. I'm giving it 5 stars because it's hard to get the right ratio of crumb to salmon and egg so it doesn't fall apart when you fry so I give this recipe 5 stars for that. Changes I made: no salmon juice, no parsley, only one egg, sauteed finely diced celery, and green onions instead of regular (not sauteed, just put them in fresh). Seasoned with Old Bay, garlic powder and pepper. Fried in canola oil not crisco. Also CHILL the patties first and they'll hold together much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Good flavor. I couldn't get my patties to stay together or to get crispy. Next time I will use more crackers I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
They tasted good, that is, the ones that didn't end up burnt on the outside and undercooked on the inside. I have never cooked with crisco shortening before but it burns really easily as I discovered. After I turned the heat way down it still burned up little bits that fell off so the last batch still had hurnedbits stuck to them. Next time I wil try with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe! I only used about 1/2 cup liquid from the salmon and used coconut oil instead of the butter and shortening. Wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
The flavor is great! My patties turned out a little sloppy so I added some more crackers....very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Very tasty recipes. This is something I would prepare again. It is easy to make, typically have the ingredients on hand, and it is ready quickly. I have made this according to the recipe - except I cannot get 3/4 cup of liquid when I drain my canned salmon - and I have made it substituting bread crumbs for cracker crumbs and dried parsley for fresh. Pair with fresh green beans or corn for a quick and delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Delicious! I threw in some diced jalapenos, cheese and used Italian flavored panko crumbs to coat the outside. Everyone really enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Best Salmon patties ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Used leftover salmon and breadcrumbs then followed the recipe. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Even a very picky husband raved about this one - and he never likes any kind of fish patties. Took advice of a couple other reviews - used 1/2 cup of crackers, used olive oil instead of shortening, added a little cayenne and dill to the mix and perfect. Also, used two 6oz cans of boneless, skinless salmon - made prep time a breeze. Did not refrigerate ahead of time but came out perfect as far as moistness. This will definitely be on the menu again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States