Oregano-Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I love this recipe. The flavor is great and it's SOOO easy! I modify it slightly, I use chicken tenders (they cook up quicker) and I cook it stove top rather than baking it. I also double the sauce, and serve it with rice which I also spoon the extra sauce over! Thanks for a great chicken recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I'm not much for measuring things out, but I made this last night by eyeballing everything when I needed something quick and easy and it turned out great! My modifications: 1) I whisked all the ingredients, plus salt, pepper, and basil, together in the glass pot that I was going to bake the chicken in, thus I had one less dish to clean. 2) I used an entire lemon, because I love on obscene amount of lemon. 3) I used less honey. 4) Instead of basting, which is too much work for a quick and dirty dinner night, I just stabbed the budgeezus out of the chicken with a fork and covered the pot to keep the juices in. This way it only took 30 minutes to cook. It turned out lovely and lemony and it required very little work! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Me and my wife both liked it. However, I did modify the recipe through rubbing a little bit of sea-salt on both sides of chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Simple, yet elegant in flavoring. Used rosemary infused olive oil, otherwise followed recipe to a T. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This had a very good flavor! My chicken turned out pretty dry. I will watch it closely the next time a cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I marinated the chicken breasts with the mixture rather than using it to pour over, using a little more olive oil than called for, because I grilled them over charcoal rather than baking them. This locked in the moisture as well as the taste of the marinade. Sometimes skinless breasts can be relatively tasteless or overpowered by the marinade, but this ended up being a nice balance of the flavor of the moist and tender chicken and the flavors of the marinade (although Mrs. Spunky Buddy thought it was too lemony-tangy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I like lemon chicken and this was OK. I have other recipes that I like better. For me I think it was the honey - it was just too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Made this as written and it was definitely tasty, but the honey didn't add much sweetness and I found the sauce to be rather sour (even though I love sour, lemony things). The honey will burn if you don't have the chicken packed tight in the baking dish, so I don't recommend making a single serving like I did. A bit of salt and pepper, garlic powder, and a touch more honey could turn this into a fabulous dish. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
'In agreement with the less-than-positive reviews: Bland. I'll use the leftovers in something else; but, as is, it's not oregano-y or lemon-y. I had my hopes up, but this didn't do it for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States