Oregano-Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Made this as written and it was definitely tasty, but the honey didn't add much sweetness and I found the sauce to be rather sour (even though I love sour, lemony things). The honey will burn if you don't have the chicken packed tight in the baking dish, so I don't recommend making a single serving like I did. A bit of salt and pepper, garlic powder, and a touch more honey could turn this into a fabulous dish. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I like lemon chicken and this was OK. I have other recipes that I like better. For me I think it was the honey - it was just too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Simple, yet elegant in flavoring. Used rosemary infused olive oil, otherwise followed recipe to a T. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Sorry, but we didn't care for this. It was easy, and I liked all the ingredients that went into it, but once cooked, it didn't have much flavor. Also, 45 mins is way too long for chicken breasts. Thirty minutes is usually perfect. The chicken would be much better if it was marinated in the sauce for several hours and then grilled instead of baked in the oven. The baked chicken didn't have much color to it and therefore didn't look that appetizing. Another change I would highly recommend is doubling the liquid. It could also benefit from salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Me and my wife both liked it. However, I did modify the recipe through rubbing a little bit of sea-salt on both sides of chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I'm not much for measuring things out, but I made this last night by eyeballing everything when I needed something quick and easy and it turned out great! My modifications: 1) I whisked all the ingredients, plus salt, pepper, and basil, together in the glass pot that I was going to bake the chicken in, thus I had one less dish to clean. 2) I used an entire lemon, because I love on obscene amount of lemon. 3) I used less honey. 4) Instead of basting, which is too much work for a quick and dirty dinner night, I just stabbed the budgeezus out of the chicken with a fork and covered the pot to keep the juices in. This way it only took 30 minutes to cook. It turned out lovely and lemony and it required very little work! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I marinated the chicken breasts with the mixture rather than using it to pour over, using a little more olive oil than called for, because I grilled them over charcoal rather than baking them. This locked in the moisture as well as the taste of the marinade. Sometimes skinless breasts can be relatively tasteless or overpowered by the marinade, but this ended up being a nice balance of the flavor of the moist and tender chicken and the flavors of the marinade (although Mrs. Spunky Buddy thought it was too lemony-tangy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I love this recipe. The flavor is great and it's SOOO easy! I modify it slightly, I use chicken tenders (they cook up quicker) and I cook it stove top rather than baking it. I also double the sauce, and serve it with rice which I also spoon the extra sauce over! Thanks for a great chicken recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This had a very good flavor! My chicken turned out pretty dry. I will watch it closely the next time a cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States