Orcchiette Pasta with Broccoli Rabe and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Good dish. I added 8oz of sliced mushrooms, half a chopped onion and about 1/2c of the salted pasta water, omitting the black olives and onion salt. Makes tons! Flavor is good the first night but the dish gets dry for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Excellent! Everyone in my family had seconds. I used mild italian sausage cooked on the grill and cut into coins and cauliflower as well as leftover peas. I also was generous with the black pepper. This will definately be put into our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Awesome!!! I went light on the broccoli rabe and heavy on the sausage =) The italian ring sausage (that I can only ever find in Jersey) with provolone and parsley is great for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LukeyLips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is an easy weeknight meal but a little on the ho-hum side. I don’t care for broccoli rabe so I substituted escarole. Added some white wine and chicken broth, as well as the fresh tomatoes suggested as an option by the submitter. Omitted the olives and, since good fresh garlic was already included, I skipped the onion salt and garlic powder as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
My family, including three teen daughters, love this! Also good with mild ital sausage and topped with Parmesan cheese. For a complete meal, I make homemade bread sticks (a snap to make with our bread machine) and a spring mix salad with red onion, raspberries and pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShelleyC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Great recipe. Added some extra garlic for my taste. Next time, I would love to make this with a cream sauce or stewed tomatoes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Used Curelom's recommendation to cook the broccoli rabe in the same pot as the pasta...less dishes is always good! Next time, I will cook the broccoli rabe for half the time shown because it all fell apart when mixed together. Regardless - it was delicious and easy! (skipped the olives because we don't like them)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is delicious! I made it vegetarian by using veggie sausage, and used collards because that was all we had. Everyone at the table had multiple helpings, my five year-old included! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is a great recipe. Very close to one I got when stationed in Italy. The main differences are the sausage wasn't used and after blanching the broccoli was sauted with the spices. The Italian lady who taught me to make it used the same pot and water for boiling the pasta and blanching the broccoli. Just blanch the broccoli first, scoop it out and cook the pasta. She said it didn't add anything to the pasta but saved water and using two pots. It has been the most requested recipe by my children when they leave home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States