Oranged Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is a great recipe. It gets lots of compliments. I love the combination of cranberries, orange and cinnamon. For this recipe, I left out the zest simply because I don't like it. With respect to the sugar, I would start with half the amount, then slowly add more. I usually end up with about 3/4 the amount suggested. I also don't simmer the sauce very long. I just let the liquid reduce a bit after the cranberries pop. It is so good it can be eaten by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Tarzana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I'm giving this one star, simply because this is much too long to cook any cranberry sauce. Cranberries become bitter if they are cooked after they pop. I'm guessing that's why the recipe calls for twice as much sugar as any other recipe I've seen for cranberry sauce. One comment even stated they were planning to add more sugar next time! Save yourself the trouble, and simmer it for no more than 10 minutes after the berries pop. And add 1 cup of sugar instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I have made this recipe for 3 years and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is the first cranberry sauce I ever made from scratch and I will never go back! Served this with a turkey on Christmas and everyone really liked it. I agree with other reviewers that this needed about two hours to cook down -- but I might have added too much water at the beginning -- the cranberries floated, so I wasn't sure how much to add to "cover". But it was easy to make as long as you budget the extra time for cooking down -- and it tastes really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishkill, New York, USA
Living In: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I grew up with canned cranberry sauce. No one in our family has ever been a huge cranberry sauce fan. I wanted to change that this year... And I succeeded! I did add a vanilla bean I had and a splash of bourbon at the end. The finished product turned out to be a perfect addition to some cranberry quick bread as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Griffin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I was looking for an orangey cranberry sauce for my thanksgiving this recipe was perfect! I don't know how long I cooked it since I just let it simmer on low while I did other things and gave it a stir when I walked through the kitchen, probably about 2 hours overall before I decided that the consistency was right. It thickens a bit more when it cools as well, so it was perfect, not runny at all on the plate. Forgot to add the cinnamon sticks so stirred in a bit of ground cinnamon at the end. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
So DELICIOUS!!! I did have to simmer for closer to 2 hours,but I think that's because you don't need to add the full 2 cups of water (hold the cranberries down with your hand while pouring the water so that you can really see how much you need). It was so heavenly...It's now the cranberry sauce of my family's thanksgiving and christmas dinners :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was a big hit! I skipped the cinnamon, but will try it with it next time. I added a few extra teaspoons of sugar at the end since it tasted a little too tart for our tastes. From now on, I'll make this for Thanksgiving dinner instead of the recipe on the back of the cranberry bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mile High Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Very good. I used regular cinnamon seasoning, as I didn't have cinnamon sticks. I also added additional brown sugar, as what was called for wasn't enough for my liking. Also took longer than an hour to cook down, but then again that's all preference, as I do prefer my sauce to be a little thicker and less runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I like that this recipe is pretty straightforward--wasn't so sure about the brown sugar, but it did end up giving the sauce a great dark and mysterious flavor. ooooohhh. yeah, oh, I ended up putting about 2 inches of ginger in the whole dish while it was coming to a boil--I love that zesty punch. no, I am not a ginger spokesperson, but it is kickin in this dish! try it! oh, and it's totally worth it to juice your own oranges. orange juice! not jug juice! not frozen frosty cylinder juice! I've tried those, and they're just not the same as the sacred naval sacrifice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States