Orange and Maple Glazed Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Excellent turkey--I agree, don't cook it on 450 the whole time. I only cooked it at that temp for 1 hour and it was already turning too dark on the top. I say just cook it at 350. Anyway, it was very flavorful and my boyfriend made turkey carcass soup the next day (an allrecipes.com recipe) and it was delicious because of the flavorful turkey--didn't need to add any other seasonings, just a little more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pcotten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is the best turkey I've ever made! I used a turkey breast and followed the recipe except I forgot the vermouth - we didn't miss it though. My husband went on and on about how good it was. Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Granby, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I've been banned from the kitchen for many years. My husband won't even let me near the pots and pans for dinners. He let down his guard and allowed me make another attempt at cooking. Well, I found this recipe and gave it a shot. I am so glad I did!!! This was amazing. (I didn't use vermouth and I don't know what it is.) Originally I was just going to put the turkey in an oven bag with some seasonings. I still used the oven bag for the first 2 hours, which kept the juices contained and the meat super moist. The last hour I removed the bag so the turkey would get a nice crisp to the skin. You could taste the different flavors - the skin had a tasty flavor, the meat had a seasoned flavor. I took the drippings and thickened it up with some cornstarch, which was a great gravy! I now have the new title of Turkey Chef for the remainder of my life. This will be the recipe that I will be using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was my first GOOD turkey, or really GREAT! I was initially overwhelmed to make it, but the hardest part was separating the skin from the body, I just had the spice thyme, that was a chore chopping that up, the basting was kinda fun watching the skin get browner each time. I basted it while it was in the oven, I had read somewhere to take it out of the oven, but in the oven was fine. It was a 15 pounder, took 4 hours. It was fantastic!! It was also juicy. My sister, a very good cook, said you could taste the flavor of the turkey, everyone loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Awesome, simply AWESOME! Only changes...we stuffed the bird and roasted at 350 degrees. The sauce was "delish"....left us begging for more. Thank you for sharing and making our "turkey day" a memorable one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
It was the first time i made the turkey and it came out great!! It was delicious; everyone loved it. The smell coming from the oven was irresistible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I've only roasted a few turkeys but this was by far the best, most delicious, moist, and definitely successful one. I loved the flavor. The gravy was perfect. The consensus at my house was this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Absolutely loved this recipe!!!!! my turkey came out perfect! thank you sooo much =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Wow great recipe except dont cook the turkey the entire time at 450 start with a half hour then set at 350 till done.So you dont end up with a over cooked burnt skin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is an great easy recipe. I mix my butter and fresh herbs than place in a piece of plastic wrap, mold into a log and place in the freezer for a few hours. Once frozen, I then cut the butter mixture into discs and place the frozen butter/herb discs between the turkey skin and the meat. As the turkey cooks, the butter and herbs melt into the meat and it is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States