Orange and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2001
Exceptional. The best lentil soup I've tasted, bar-none. The orange leaves a pleasant after taste and the spices are just right. Please post more of this woman's recipes. I would love a good recipe for scones. Thanks again, Hannah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Our 15-month-old son loved this soup. My husband also really liked this, and he's not a big lentil fan. It has a nice creamy texture and a very smooth taste. Double it though, as others suggest. The base recipe only serves four as a first course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This was wonderful! I used vegetarian chicken seasoning instead of chicken broth, and skipped the celery and bay leaf. My family loved it - the only problem was I would say this made about two servings, not four - by the time the kids and I were done, my husband got about three bites. Also, I had to keep adding extra water as it cooked. But overall, it was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
wonderful and so easy! Made it for a potluck and everyone loved it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINSEID

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I thought this was tasty but my husband, who's a big lentil soup fan, loved it. I sauteed the onion in a little olive oil instead of butter (as it's healthier). When the onion was softened, I added some minced garlic, which I briefly sauteed, before adding the rest of the ingredients. I also diced the carrot instaed of shredding it & used only 1/4 tsp. thyme, due to family preference. I added all the broth at the same time & didn't bother blending the ingredients at the end. A little texture from the lentils & veggies was fine with us. I would suggest that if you go to the trouble of making this that you double the recipe so you can take some to lunch or freeze it for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
I have never cared much for lentils but I have been trying. I had two cups of them to use up so I made a triple batch. I can tell already that it won't last long because "tasting" it when it was done ended up meaning I ate two full bowls. :) I used white pepper and added all of the liquid before it was done cooking becuase the lentils had absorbed so much. I also sauteed the celery 'til it was soft to make sure I could puree it enough to sneak it past my kids. Any crunchy bits, no matter how small, could give away my secret plan to get veggies into their bodies. I really like it. I don't use thyme much in cooking and was not going to bother buying more when I ran out but I used the rest for this soup and thyme is already on my grocery list. I will have to make more of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNYCO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This was the best lentil soup I have ever tried! And easy too. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Lovely! Great comfort food and very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Very good soup. My picky husband ,my 2 1/2 years old and 14 months old loved it. I sauteed the onion/celery/carotte together, used vegetable stock, fresh thyme and herbes de Provence and did not blend the soup at the end and it was perfect. No leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This is the best lentil soup ever!!!! Even my husband, who needs meat for every meal, ate all of this soup, and wanted more. I recommend making a double batch. Thanks, Nick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States