Orange and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I thought this was tasty but my husband, who's a big lentil soup fan, loved it. I sauteed the onion in a little olive oil instead of butter (as it's healthier). When the onion was softened, I added some minced garlic, which I briefly sauteed, before adding the rest of the ingredients. I also diced the carrot instaed of shredding it & used only 1/4 tsp. thyme, due to family preference. I added all the broth at the same time & didn't bother blending the ingredients at the end. A little texture from the lentils & veggies was fine with us. I would suggest that if you go to the trouble of making this that you double the recipe so you can take some to lunch or freeze it for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Amazing soup. Seems gourmet, but its so simple to make. Guests loved it, as did kids. I added garlic, and sautéed it with the onion as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This was wonderful! I used vegetarian chicken seasoning instead of chicken broth, and skipped the celery and bay leaf. My family loved it - the only problem was I would say this made about two servings, not four - by the time the kids and I were done, my husband got about three bites. Also, I had to keep adding extra water as it cooked. But overall, it was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Very good soup. I cooked all the broth with the lentils, instead of adding some at the end. I also only blended halh the soup, so there were chunks in the soup. Nice refreshing flavor. Great the way it was, I also added some cream to my bowl of soup and it was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2001
Exceptional. The best lentil soup I've tasted, bar-none. The orange leaves a pleasant after taste and the spices are just right. Please post more of this woman's recipes. I would love a good recipe for scones. Thanks again, Hannah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
My Husband and I just loved this soup! One of the best I ever ate, with a wonderful fine flavor! I followed the recipe exactly as written but did add some diced cooked chicken to it. I served it with fresh backed Corn Bread - absolutely Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
I have never cared much for lentils but I have been trying. I had two cups of them to use up so I made a triple batch. I can tell already that it won't last long because "tasting" it when it was done ended up meaning I ate two full bowls. :) I used white pepper and added all of the liquid before it was done cooking becuase the lentils had absorbed so much. I also sauteed the celery 'til it was soft to make sure I could puree it enough to sneak it past my kids. Any crunchy bits, no matter how small, could give away my secret plan to get veggies into their bodies. I really like it. I don't use thyme much in cooking and was not going to bother buying more when I ran out but I used the rest for this soup and thyme is already on my grocery list. I will have to make more of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNYCO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This is the best lentil soup ever!!!! Even my husband, who needs meat for every meal, ate all of this soup, and wanted more. I recommend making a double batch. Thanks, Nick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Very good soup. My picky husband ,my 2 1/2 years old and 14 months old loved it. I sauteed the onion/celery/carotte together, used vegetable stock, fresh thyme and herbes de Provence and did not blend the soup at the end and it was perfect. No leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Wonderful flavor and so easy to make, perfect for a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States