Orange and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2001
Exceptional. The best lentil soup I've tasted, bar-none. The orange leaves a pleasant after taste and the spices are just right. Please post more of this woman's recipes. I would love a good recipe for scones. Thanks again, Hannah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This was wonderful! I used vegetarian chicken seasoning instead of chicken broth, and skipped the celery and bay leaf. My family loved it - the only problem was I would say this made about two servings, not four - by the time the kids and I were done, my husband got about three bites. Also, I had to keep adding extra water as it cooked. But overall, it was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I doubled this recipe and used fresh thyme, which I added at the end, nice taste, but still missing something. Maybe cream? Not sure if that would curdle with the OJ. Next time I'll add minced garlic with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Excellent soup, easy to make. maybe requires extra seasoning and herbs for that little extra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I thought this was tasty but my husband, who's a big lentil soup fan, loved it. I sauteed the onion in a little olive oil instead of butter (as it's healthier). When the onion was softened, I added some minced garlic, which I briefly sauteed, before adding the rest of the ingredients. I also diced the carrot instaed of shredding it & used only 1/4 tsp. thyme, due to family preference. I added all the broth at the same time & didn't bother blending the ingredients at the end. A little texture from the lentils & veggies was fine with us. I would suggest that if you go to the trouble of making this that you double the recipe so you can take some to lunch or freeze it for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
I have never cared much for lentils but I have been trying. I had two cups of them to use up so I made a triple batch. I can tell already that it won't last long because "tasting" it when it was done ended up meaning I ate two full bowls. :) I used white pepper and added all of the liquid before it was done cooking becuase the lentils had absorbed so much. I also sauteed the celery 'til it was soft to make sure I could puree it enough to sneak it past my kids. Any crunchy bits, no matter how small, could give away my secret plan to get veggies into their bodies. I really like it. I don't use thyme much in cooking and was not going to bother buying more when I ran out but I used the rest for this soup and thyme is already on my grocery list. I will have to make more of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNYCO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
The taste came out wonderful, but I think the recipe needs a little tweaking, which I did: I sauteed garlic and the celery with the onions, and added 1 1/2 tbsp herbes de provence and pepper. I didn't have any bay leaves or carrots, but I added just one chopped tomato for flavor. I also took reviewers' advice and reduced the liquid...but it still came out much more runny than lentil soup I'm used to. But, the flavor was wonderful, and I will definitely make it again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
i have to say, my husband and i liked this for about half a bowl each. due to the lentils, it was just a little too grainy for our tastes. i would normally give it two or three stars, HOWEVER, my one year old ate an entire bowl and ALL of the leftover over the next few days. i was thrilled to find something so good for him that he loved! this is the best way yet for him to get veggies, fiber, and some protein! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This is the best lentil soup ever!!!! Even my husband, who needs meat for every meal, ate all of this soup, and wanted more. I recommend making a double batch. Thanks, Nick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Our 15-month-old son loved this soup. My husband also really liked this, and he's not a big lentil fan. It has a nice creamy texture and a very smooth taste. Double it though, as others suggest. The base recipe only serves four as a first course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States