Orange and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I used orange zest instead of orange juice: delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This made a very healthy, tasty, filling, low-calorie lunch today. I was afraid the orange flavor would be predominant, but it wasn't. I used my cheap immersion blender, but next time, I will use a regular blender or food processor so it will be smoother. It made about 3.5 cups of soup, so I might double it next time so I can freeze it in individual portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Soo tasty. I loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I only had 1/2 cup of chicken broth, so used it, 1/4 cup lemon juice and 2 1/4 cups water. Very refreshing soup! Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I am CRAZY for this soup! I make two batches at a time, then portion and freeze. At about 200 calories and 10 grams of fiber per serving, this soup is tasty and satisfying. It's nice to be able to pop one in the microwave for a healthy, quick lunch. I run the onions though the food processor. I use baby carrots which I think makes it a little sweeter. I've tried both red and regular lentils, but I don't really taste a difference. I plan to try French Green Lentils next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Yummy! Even my picky eaters cleaned their bowls. I did not notice a strong orange flavor at all. The soup definitely had a light, fresh taste but still filled us up. I served this with homemade wheat bread and a tomato/mozarella salad. We all have very happy tummys. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Double this when you make it! Lentil soup is my favorite food and this is one of the best and most unique soups I have made. I did add garlic as in some of the other reviews and doubled the the thyme as a personal preference. Absolutely delicious!!! This will become a staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I pureed only 1/2 and added a can of drained diced tomatoes to the soup as well. I was a little afraid of the interaction w/ the orange juice but it turned out great. Left it warming in the crock pot all day made the house smell good. I might throw in some small chick peas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SketchyRecipe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
What an unusual take on lentils! It was delicious. I made it just like the recipe and enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Orovada, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States