Orange Yogurt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I made this recipe on a whim as we had extra yogurt lying around and it was an amazing surprise! Personally, I don't like zest so I left that out of the recipe and used bottled orange juice. I put in a little extra and it came out perfectly moist. I left out the glaze as extra sweetness was not necessary. This bread is a rich, dense pound cake with a bright acidity. Will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I've been on a mission to make healthier versions of treats, so... used "healthier" margarine, sub. 1c. of flour with all purp. wheat flour, and used 1/2c. sugar with 1/2c. splenda brown sugar. I only had non-fat plain yogurt so I added 1T. raw honey, 1/2t. vanilla, and 1/2t. orange blossom water (because I have it). In the end I made cupcakes (portion control & freezable) and cut the cook time in half. DELICIOUS!! One of the BEST results I have had trying to cut calories!!! The splenda made it sweeter, so no need for glaze. Next time I will try substituting a little apple sauce for margarine. And maybe a little almond extract and sliced almonds baked on top;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I've been using this website for a few years now, and this is the first time i was really compelled to rate a recipe. this bread turned out delicious!! i needed a recipe to use up some yogurt i had, and im glad i chose this. very easy to make, by the time the batter was being poured it looked good! i used a little more than the suggested amount of yogurt, and added slivered almonds to the mix-what a treat! i also poured the glaze on as soon as the bread came out of the oven. the whole house loved it-will def. make again! yogurt is quickly becoming my favorite addition to baked goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crescent City, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Wow, this made a great little cupcake. I halved the recipe & made about 7 of them. The combo of yogurt and butter makes them really moist. I'm not big on glazes, so I made a buttercream/orange frosting. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very tasty bread, but I had trouble keeping it in a 9X5X3 inch bread pan. I think next time I'll make it as cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.A.Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I used brown sugar, 5-cereal-flour and red orange that gave this bread a brownish colour. Also, I added some grated coconut and it turned out perfectly ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Great recipe, little more like pound cake and that is a good thing...will be making this again. Little change w/ the glaze I added a little lemon zest to it. I full lemon version sounds good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This is one of the best sweet breads on this site - actually I consider it a cake because it is so rich tasting and that is how I have it filed. If you use all butter it also makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and while the bread had the perfect texture and moistness, I felt it was lacking more of the orange flavor. Next time I'll make it, I think I'll add some frozen orange juice concentrate in place of the orange juice. It was still delicious aside from that. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariko Kerns-Chaviano

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Delicious, wonderful texture. I didn't have yoghurt so I used buttermilk which was perfect. I can imagine variarions like muffins, streussel coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States