Orange Yogurt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I made this recipe on a whim as we had extra yogurt lying around and it was an amazing surprise! Personally, I don't like zest so I left that out of the recipe and used bottled orange juice. I put in a little extra and it came out perfectly moist. I left out the glaze as extra sweetness was not necessary. This bread is a rich, dense pound cake with a bright acidity. Will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I've been on a mission to make healthier versions of treats, so... used "healthier" margarine, sub. 1c. of flour with all purp. wheat flour, and used 1/2c. sugar with 1/2c. splenda brown sugar. I only had non-fat plain yogurt so I added 1T. raw honey, 1/2t. vanilla, and 1/2t. orange blossom water (because I have it). In the end I made cupcakes (portion control & freezable) and cut the cook time in half. DELICIOUS!! One of the BEST results I have had trying to cut calories!!! The splenda made it sweeter, so no need for glaze. Next time I will try substituting a little apple sauce for margarine. And maybe a little almond extract and sliced almonds baked on top;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I've been using this website for a few years now, and this is the first time i was really compelled to rate a recipe. this bread turned out delicious!! i needed a recipe to use up some yogurt i had, and im glad i chose this. very easy to make, by the time the batter was being poured it looked good! i used a little more than the suggested amount of yogurt, and added slivered almonds to the mix-what a treat! i also poured the glaze on as soon as the bread came out of the oven. the whole house loved it-will def. make again! yogurt is quickly becoming my favorite addition to baked goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crescent City, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Wow, this made a great little cupcake. I halved the recipe & made about 7 of them. The combo of yogurt and butter makes them really moist. I'm not big on glazes, so I made a buttercream/orange frosting. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very tasty bread, but I had trouble keeping it in a 9X5X3 inch bread pan. I think next time I'll make it as cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.A.Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I used brown sugar, 5-cereal-flour and red orange that gave this bread a brownish colour. Also, I added some grated coconut and it turned out perfectly ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Great recipe, little more like pound cake and that is a good thing...will be making this again. Little change w/ the glaze I added a little lemon zest to it. I full lemon version sounds good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This is one of the best sweet breads on this site - actually I consider it a cake because it is so rich tasting and that is how I have it filed. If you use all butter it also makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and while the bread had the perfect texture and moistness, I felt it was lacking more of the orange flavor. Next time I'll make it, I think I'll add some frozen orange juice concentrate in place of the orange juice. It was still delicious aside from that. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariko Kerns-Chaviano

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Delicious, wonderful texture. I didn't have yoghurt so I used buttermilk which was perfect. I can imagine variarions like muffins, streussel coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States