Orange, Walnut, Gorgonzola and Mixed Greens Salad with Fresh Citrus Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This Salad was fantastic. my family loved it It tases so fresh ansd delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This is my stand-by salad and make it with canned mandarin oranges and bottled champagne dressing. Pretty standard recipe. Pecans as well as almonds are good nut substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
Great recipe! I added brown sugar and a tad of butter to the nuts while browning them. I also added some croutons. Loved the dressing! Yummy Yummy Salad! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
I used the dressing from this salad, but added pumpkin & sunflower seeds, halved cashews, slivered almonds, raisins & feta cheese to the greens....amazing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I substituted drained mandarin oranges, that had been in juice instead of a light syrup, for the naval oranges (easier & visually pleasing) and Splenda for the sugar. As I was out of Dijon, I used spicy brown mustard and also omitted the oregano due to family preference. I think this would be yummy with blue cheese or feta as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
i had this at a dinner party and all the guest insisted on leaving with the recipe. It was more of a hit than the main course
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I made this salad for a bridal shower and everyone loved it. Now I keep the dressing on hand for make my everyday salad extra summery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This was an excellent recipe. I changed the salad but made the dressing as is, with the exception that I replaced the sugar with splenda. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELKEHINZE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
The best part of this recipe is the dressing. The salad ingredients can be modified to suit one's taste. I was looking for an arugula salad recipe that tasted like a salad I had at a local restaurant. With a few substitutes in toppings, this salad was very similar in flavor, but a lot less expensive than the restaurant version. I like to sometimes use sliced fresh pears instead of oranges, omit the onions, use glazed pecans instead of walnuts, and use goat cheese instead of the Gorgonzola. However, I use the dressing as is. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Starkville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I have made this several times and it is always a hit. I have used splenda, and added feta cheese instead of gorgonzola and it was excellant. As other reviewers have noted, the salad greens can be changed to suit your preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TerryB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cayucos, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States