Orange, Walnut, Gorgonzola and Mixed Greens Salad with Fresh Citrus Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
We loved this salad. I reduced the sugar (the sugar in the orange juice was plenty), and added ground ginger for a little but of Asian flavor. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
One of my favorite restaurants serves a salad with a citrus dressing that I just love except for the fact that it's too sweet for my tastes. Knowing that going in, I already knew I was going to omit the sugar in this recipe and for me that was a good call. The orange juice made this plenty sweet enough. I used a white wine vinegar rather than the heavier, sweeter balsamic, and skipped the orange sections in the salad. Nice, light springtime salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I didn't use the gorgonzola, but it is a great recipe and my family loves it....and they are not salad eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Tasty! I used mixed salad greens with spinach from Trader Joe's, sliced almonds instead of walnut since that's what I had, used canned, drained mandarin oranges, less red onion but thinly sliced, blue cheese instead of gorgonzo (also what was handy) and made smaller amount of dressing with agave instead of sugar, and added poppy seeds. I forgot the pepper and oregano but it still tasted good. I'll remember next time. This is such a good dressing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
For sure I rate this 5 stars! Love this recipe. The only thing I changed if you consider this a change is I use seedless clementine slices. (O...and instead of sugar - I used splenda) DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
It was ok, uninteresting though. It was lacking in contrast of flavors somehow, a mild salad with a sweet dressing..I have had better salads most definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
c
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Oh my goodness I love this salad! The dressing is just amazing, so fresh and light tasting. I could make this salad allllllllll the time! Something you would get at a restaurant for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieCakes02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
yum! this was very good - I thought that the dressing was a bit sweet and perhaps could reduce the sugar - or make it as directed then add more of the other dressing ingredients to reduce sweetness - that way you will have lots of yummy orange dressing to put in a bottle for your next salad - highly rate this dressing and could use on regular salads!!! The only gorgonzola I could find was very expensive so substituted using a soft blue cheese - but I would not do rthis again - you need a crumbly blue cheese for this one - and not too strong because it overpowers the salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Very good. I took the advice of using brown sugar and decreasing amount of orange juice. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUV2COOK25

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

A simple salad dressing seasoned with Dijon, orange zest, and cumin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States