Orange, Walnut, Gorgonzola and Mixed Greens Salad with Fresh Citrus Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Made this for a 3rd of July party - got rave reviews from everyone and most had 2nd so I made it again for a 4th of July party. We now have some leftover dressing and am looking forward to making another salad with it for this weekend. Made a couple of modifications though; I decreased the sugar to 1/8 of a cup, I increased the balsamic vinegar to 2 1/2 Tbsp., I increased the black pepper & the dried oregano to 1/2 tsp. and I substituted 1 1/2 cans of mandarin oranges for the navel oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Loved it. My husband said I should reduce the red onion in it, but I was happy with it. Dressing was great and the combination of flavors was wonderful. I cut the oil in half but left the rest of the dressing ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This is a really refreshing salad - great in the spring and summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This made a lovely salad - I used butter lettuce mix and it added a softness that was really enjoyed. I found the dressing a little bland...DEFINITELY needed salt and it seemed to need a touch more acid too despite the OJ and vinegar. I added more vinegar and OJ and a little more olive oil to balance and then it was more flavorful...but still a tiny bit thin. Everyone at the party LOVED this salad - so I would highly recommend it. BTW, I wish they'd give prep time including PREP - sectioning oranges can be very time consuming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made 1/2 recipe and still got enough ingredients to make at least 4 large salads. I like the dressing and that it was mild tasting. I put the ingredients in a container with a twist on lid, making that part very easy to mix by shaking. The blue cheese and walnuts were a great addition. I didn't toast the walnuts, because I don't care for them that way, and most nuts are sold roasted anymore anyhow. However, I thought the oranges were horribly out of place. I couldn't eat them with the other ingredients. I also had to cut the amount of onion in half as it was too dominant. Other than that, it tasted fine but seemed like it was missing something? It was kind of boring and the ingredients didn't come together much taste wise. Also, one would definitely have to eat something else with this. It is just too light to be any kind of a meal salad for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Dressing is really good but it does contain a lot of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Delicious summer salad! My kids ask for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was a great salad. I used canned mandarin oranges and didn't bother with the dressing. I just used EVOO and Balsamic vin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Loved it. A delicious combination. Was skeptical about the dressing but it ended up being light and not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was delicious! I used mandarin oranges instead of navel oranges and also used dried cranberries. I made the dressing as written and substituted equal amount of splenda for the sugar. I thought that as written the dressing was too sweet, so I had to add more balsamic to take the sweet edge off. I'd add less sugar next time. Also, serve the dressing on the side. The dressing makes a lot and it's easy to saturate the salad if you dump it all on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

A simple salad dressing seasoned with Dijon, orange zest, and cumin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States