Orange, Walnut, Gorgonzola and Mixed Greens Salad with Fresh Citrus Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Excellent salad! This recipe is a real crowd-pleaser and relatively easy to make. We added mandarin oranges in the salad as a substitute. For the dressing, we also added 1 tablespoon of Worchestshire in the dressing and used really good quality OJ. I could eat this salad everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Great salad. I used canned mandarin oranges. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
I used the dressing from this salad, but added pumpkin & sunflower seeds, halved cashews, slivered almonds, raisins & feta cheese to the greens....amazing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I substituted drained mandarin oranges, that had been in juice instead of a light syrup, for the naval oranges (easier & visually pleasing) and Splenda for the sugar. As I was out of Dijon, I used spicy brown mustard and also omitted the oregano due to family preference. I think this would be yummy with blue cheese or feta as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
i had this at a dinner party and all the guest insisted on leaving with the recipe. It was more of a hit than the main course
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I made this salad for a bridal shower and everyone loved it. Now I keep the dressing on hand for make my everyday salad extra summery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This was an excellent recipe. I changed the salad but made the dressing as is, with the exception that I replaced the sugar with splenda. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELKEHINZE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
The best part of this recipe is the dressing. The salad ingredients can be modified to suit one's taste. I was looking for an arugula salad recipe that tasted like a salad I had at a local restaurant. With a few substitutes in toppings, this salad was very similar in flavor, but a lot less expensive than the restaurant version. I like to sometimes use sliced fresh pears instead of oranges, omit the onions, use glazed pecans instead of walnuts, and use goat cheese instead of the Gorgonzola. However, I use the dressing as is. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Starkville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I have made this several times and it is always a hit. I have used splenda, and added feta cheese instead of gorgonzola and it was excellant. As other reviewers have noted, the salad greens can be changed to suit your preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TerryB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cayucos, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I made this salad for a work function. Everyone asked for the recipe. It is so easy to make and the dressing is fabulous. I am watching carbs, so I used a Lite orange juice, and Splenda and it still tasted great. Nobody even noticed that it was "Lite".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

A simple salad dressing seasoned with Dijon, orange zest, and cumin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States