Orange, Walnut, Gorgonzola and Mixed Greens Salad with Fresh Citrus Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is an excellent salad dressing. I agree that decreasing the sugar by 1/2 and using brown sugar instead gives it a much fuller flavor. I also used 1tbsp of honey dijon mustard and decreased the veggie oil to only 3 tbsp. U can use regular orange juice or freshly squeezed to save some time. Peel the salad oranges with a sharp knife, they look prettier that way. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I am loving this salad for lunch right now. I substituted raw fresh asparagus for the walnuts, just because of what I had on hand. Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
The first time I made this I thought it was good, but not outstanding. The second time I made this I added my changes....Instead of OJ, I pureed 2 fresh navel oranges. Not only did I not need to add sugar but we also didn’t consume extra sugar from the OJ (bonus!) I also cut out the vegetable oil and just added a bit more olive oil. Wow, did this make a difference, loved it! I think next time I make this I’ll try using the walnut oil like some others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Made this for a 3rd of July party - got rave reviews from everyone and most had 2nd so I made it again for a 4th of July party. We now have some leftover dressing and am looking forward to making another salad with it for this weekend. Made a couple of modifications though; I decreased the sugar to 1/8 of a cup, I increased the balsamic vinegar to 2 1/2 Tbsp., I increased the black pepper & the dried oregano to 1/2 tsp. and I substituted 1 1/2 cans of mandarin oranges for the navel oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Loved it. My husband said I should reduce the red onion in it, but I was happy with it. Dressing was great and the combination of flavors was wonderful. I cut the oil in half but left the rest of the dressing ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This is a really refreshing salad - great in the spring and summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This made a lovely salad - I used butter lettuce mix and it added a softness that was really enjoyed. I found the dressing a little bland...DEFINITELY needed salt and it seemed to need a touch more acid too despite the OJ and vinegar. I added more vinegar and OJ and a little more olive oil to balance and then it was more flavorful...but still a tiny bit thin. Everyone at the party LOVED this salad - so I would highly recommend it. BTW, I wish they'd give prep time including PREP - sectioning oranges can be very time consuming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made 1/2 recipe and still got enough ingredients to make at least 4 large salads. I like the dressing and that it was mild tasting. I put the ingredients in a container with a twist on lid, making that part very easy to mix by shaking. The blue cheese and walnuts were a great addition. I didn't toast the walnuts, because I don't care for them that way, and most nuts are sold roasted anymore anyhow. However, I thought the oranges were horribly out of place. I couldn't eat them with the other ingredients. I also had to cut the amount of onion in half as it was too dominant. Other than that, it tasted fine but seemed like it was missing something? It was kind of boring and the ingredients didn't come together much taste wise. Also, one would definitely have to eat something else with this. It is just too light to be any kind of a meal salad for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Dressing is really good but it does contain a lot of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Delicious summer salad! My kids ask for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States