Orange, Walnut, Gorgonzola and Mixed Greens Salad with Fresh Citrus Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I made the dressing for a similar salad - granny smith apples, glazed walnuts, red onion, chicken, but I forgot my blue cheese! I really liked the dressing. Made it in my food processor, cut the OJ to 1/4 cup, added some kosher salt. Will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I loved this recipe! Even my boyfriend, who is a "meat and potatoes" type of eater gobbled it up! I added feta b/c I did not have gorgonzola and added cranberries for an extra touch, and it was delicious! I'll definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clarebear03
Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Wonderful to look at, and even better to eat. I used mandarin oranges as well simply because I had some on hand. I had lots of dressing left over, and it kept well. Thanks so much for the recipe...this salad has become a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
What a great salad recipe! I did follow other's suggestions and eased up on the sugar. I added a tsp at a time until it was just right. I brought this dish to our neighbours for pot luck and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by little.mrs.h

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
we loved this. I am thinking of adding a little tarragon to the dressing next time. I used toasted almonds but I am thinking that pine nuts might be good also. Such a different way to make salad. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
My family loves this, even our 9yo. We just use less red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevrlee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good salad - great for summer or winter!! The dressing makes the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
The only reason I gave this a four and not a five is because the recipe calls for a bit too much sugar, so I cut that by half. Otherwise, the salad is wonderful. I make it every year at Christmas for my family and they always rave over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by annie
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This 5 stars is only for the dressing. I downsized the dressing recipe for 2 and it still made plenty...at least for me since I don't use too much. It made at least 1/2 cup which will last me for at least 4-6 more meals. Instead of orange juice, I juiced some mandarin oranges. I only added a very small pinch of dried oregano. The salad consisted of what I had on hand...romaine lettuce, toasted walnuts, fresh mandarin oranges slices, pickled red onions, toasted sesame seeds, and a soy marinated and grilled salmon. The dressing complimented all the ingredients very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annie
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
The combination of ingredients is wonderful, but you could come up with your personal preferences pretty easily - I used feta instead of gorgonzola, but chevre would have been good too. I used mandarin oranges instead of navel oranges, especially because October is not "orange season". The dressing was too sweet for me though - I used o.j. from my fridge and perhaps if you used fresh squeezed o.j. instead, it wouldn't be as sweet. If I make again, I will significantly reduce the sugar so it's not so sweet. Otherwise, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Joseph, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States