Orange, Walnut, Gorgonzola and Mixed Greens Salad with Fresh Citrus Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Easy to make for a quick-fix lunch. Dressing could be a little less sweet — I reduced sugar to 3 tsp and it's still sweet from the orange juice. Otherwise fabulous combination. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Tan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This is an AWESOME salad! Arugula is a peppery lettuce so I always add fresh cracked black pepper. Fresh Florida oranges in season are the sweetest you can find, so adding sugar to the dressing is unnecessary. I use 1 fresh squeezed in the dressing and 1 peeled and cut into the salad. Red onions add a sweet element, yet if I only have white onions, I add it into the dressing. I've used GOAT cheese as well as the recommended gorgonzola and it totally works. NUT oil makes a world of difference...I've used almond, pistachio and walnut as substitutes. Also, toasting and slightly caramelizing the walnuts with light brown sugar is the BOMB! I substituted the balsamic for rice wine vinegar and fresh thyme for the oregano. Using a blender to emulsify the dressing does the trick. I serve this every year at our annual brunch and everyone LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
After reading the reviews, of course, I decided to add about 1/2 teaspoon of orange rind to the dressing, for extra orange flavor. Instead of juicing the oranges, I simply peeled and sectioned the orange and threw it in a blender to make the 2/3 cup needed. A thicker dressing in the outcome. My family and I sure enjoyed this salad recipe! Thanks faithful96!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Made this for Easter Sunday Dinner - was a huge hit. Did not add the the Gorganzola directly as some don't like it.Guests who like it added separately. This dressing is delicious have already made it again since Sunday and its only Wednesday! Found you can also use toasted Pecans if you do not have Walnuts on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Very good. Would recommend it as a great salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I LOVED this recipe. The salad was awesome. I didn't need all of the dressing and served it on the side. I saw at least one of my guests dipping his bread into the dressing. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
You only need to make half the amount of dressing. I will add more gorgonzola next time. I used two 11oz cans mandarin oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I made this with fresh squeezed orange juice. I also did not have Gorgonzola or walnuts so I substituted them for feta and pecans. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I made this for my family barbeque today. A HIT! I took the advice of previous reviewers - added garlic to the dressing, only used 2 tsp BROWN sugar, used less oj. But I don't like oranges and the pears I bought weren't ripe, so I cut up watermelon into the salad instead, and it was amazing!!!! So refreshing. Would make this again in a heartbeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is an excellent salad dressing. I agree that decreasing the sugar by 1/2 and using brown sugar instead gives it a much fuller flavor. I also used 1tbsp of honey dijon mustard and decreased the veggie oil to only 3 tbsp. U can use regular orange juice or freshly squeezed to save some time. Peel the salad oranges with a sharp knife, they look prettier that way. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States